New Releases This Week

By Bookshop.org

By Bookshop.org
The Furrows

The Furrows

Namwali Serpell

$27.00 $25.11

"In Namwali Serpell's hands, grief is a kind of possession. The Furrows  is a piercing, sharply written novel about the conjuring power of loss." —Raven Leilani, author of Luster

The Winners

The Winners

Fredrik Backman

$28.99 $26.96

“I savored every page, every word of this well written story of a hockey community; love, death, marriage, human nature, and all for the love of Hockey. Fredrik Backman will take you out of the cold and into your heart.” —Karen Piacentini, Fenton's Open Book, Fenton, MI

Lark Ascending

Lark Ascending

Silas House

$27.00 $25.11

“In a near future that seems closer and closer to becoming a reality, Lark Ascending follows Lark as he survives ordeal after ordeal. Silas House manages to imbue Lark’s story with humanity and hope. This will stick with you for a long time.” —Chelsea Bauer, Union Avenue Books, Knoxville, TN

Motherthing

Motherthing

Ainslie Hogarth

$17.00 $15.81

“Motherthing is dark, witty, and absurd — the perfect combination! Abby and Ralph move in with Ralph’s mother, but Laura is conniving and prickly. This book will leave you gasping, and you might think twice about eating chicken à la king.” —Caitlin Baker, Island Books, Mercer Island, WA

Stay True: A Memoir

Stay True: A Memoir

Hua Hsu

$26.00 $24.18

"Hua Hsu offers, with seeming effortless grace and lucidity. . .a map to his soul's becoming. He shows how he constructed an armor against the injustices of the world, one made only of porousness and transparency, the only armor worth donning. This kind and degree of sharing is a rare gift." —Jonathan Lethem, author of Motherless Brooklyn

Healing Through Words

Healing Through Words

Rupi Kaur

$24.99 $23.24

Rupi Kaur presents guided poetry writing exercises of her own design to help you explore themes of trauma, loss, heartache, love, family, healing, and celebration of the self.

Chokepoint Capitalism: How Big Tech and Big Content Captured Creative Labor Markets and How We'll Win Them Back

Chokepoint Capitalism: How Big Tech and Big Content Captured Creative Labor Markets and How We'll Win Them Back

Cory Doctorow and Rebecca Giblin

$26.95 $25.06

Chokepoint Capitalism is a call to workers of all sectors to unite to help smash these chokepoints and take back the power and profit that's being heisted away—before it's too late.

The Year of the Monster

The Year of the Monster

Tara Stillions Whitehead

$17.00 $15.81

The Year of the Monster begins with a case-study look at the Hollywood dream-proxy for the American Dream-and then weaves the woes of celebrity fetish and media culture into real and speculative conversations about the human, climate, and spiritual crises of today. Mixing traditional storytelling with purposeful experimentation, Stillions Whitehead balances prose, script, and hybrids on the fulcrum of classic truth: Monsters and monstrosity are not strictly teratological horrors.

Deer Man: Seven Years of Living in the Wild

Deer Man: Seven Years of Living in the Wild

Geoffroy Delorme

$26.95 $25.06

“This is a book to nourish your younger self that desperately wished to flee the human race for the wild. Delorme’s quiet insights into forest lore and intimacy with forest creatures weave an undeniable spell. Excellent for fans of Fox & I.” —Amanda Qassar, Warwick's, La Jolla, CA

Stay Curious and Keep Exploring: 50 Amazing, Bubbly, and Creative Science Experiments to Do with the Whole Family

Stay Curious and Keep Exploring: 50 Amazing, Bubbly, and Creative Science Experiments to Do with the Whole Family

Emily Calandrelli

$22.95 $21.34

"Here are 50, count 'em, 50 home experiments you can count on. Each is a crowd, or home experimenter, pleaser." —Bill Nye, Science Educator, CEO, The Planetary Society