Every Other Weekend

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$17.95  $16.69
Publisher
She Writes Press
Publish Date
Pages
334
Dimensions
5.43 X 8.43 X 1.1 inches | 0.95 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781647424794

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Margaret Klaw is a writer, a lawyer, and a founding partner of BKW Family Law, an all-women law firm in Philadelphia. Named a Preeminent Woman Lawyer by Martindale-Hubbell, she has been recognized by Best Lawyers in America and designated a Pennsylvania "Super Lawyer" in the area of family law. Always fascinated by the world she inhabited in her work life, Margaret finally found time to write about it after her youngest child went to college. Starting with day-in-the-life vignettes about practicing family law published in HuffPost, she has written for The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Time, and Salon and is the author of Keeping it Civil: The Case of the Pre-Nup and the Porsche & Other True Accounts from the Files of a Family Lawyer (Algonquin Books, 2013). Every Other Weekend is her first work of fiction. She lives in Philadelphia, PA.
Reviews
"A kaleidoscopic story about the complexities of modern love and the possibilities of starting anew. Every Other Weekend is a fast-paced, vividly imagined, and utterly absorbing novel."
--JASMIN DARZNIK, New York Times best-selling author of The Bohemians

"It's hard to believe this is attorney-in-real-life Margaret Klaw's first novel. Every Other Weekend is written with the arms-flung-wide confidence of someone who has been paying very close attention to the always messy, sometimes funny, and never boring world of divorce. This delicious dissection of a good-on-paper family torn asunder will keep you happily reading well past your bedtime."
--CELIA RIVENBARK, New York Times best-selling author of Stop Dressing Your Six-Year-Old Like a Skank

"So many things about Every Other Weekend blew me away. As I was reading, the characters' dilemmas followed me everywhere--into the shower, into my dreams, busting into my train of thought when I was supposed to be working. Few books have had that effect on me. Anna Karenina comes to mind, and the scope and depth of Klaw's novel is indeed Tolstoy-esque. Every Other Weekend smacks of intensely observed reality, made spellbinding and poignant by a very talented author. The ending will have you begging for more."
--CATHRYN JAKOBSON RAMIN, New York Times best-selling author of Carved in Sand

"Margaret Klaw's debut novel, Every Other Weekend, achieves the very difficult, which is to offer a deliciously readable, rollicking tale that nevertheless explores the deeply tangled threads of domestic life. In her wry stew, made up of over-the-hill hipsters, gossiping yoginis, polyamorous millennials, aging dogs, and scared-of-the-dark kiddos, Klaw raises deep questions about love, loyalty, and justice in a world where there are no pure heroes and villains."
--LISE FUNDERBURG, author of Pig Candy and Black, White, Other

"Margaret Klaw's debut novel, Every Other Weekend, is a clever, page-turning master class in blurred lines, moral ambiguity, and the complicated aftermath of divorce. Written from the perspective of an experienced family law attorney, Every Other Weekend tells the same story through the lens of the attorneys, friends, parties, witnesses, and children involved with staggering results, begging the question: when relationships break apart, how can we ever get to the whole truth and nothing but?"
--AMY IMPELLIZZERI, author of In Her Defense and I Know How This Ends

"Incisive, smart, and page-turning, Every Other Weekend is much more than the story of a dissolving marriage. Klaw's keen observations, spot-on turns of phrase, and astute social commentary pepper this tale of an entangled community, half-truths, and outright lies. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty!"
--ANDREA J. STEIN, author of Typecast

"Jake Naudain, an aging wanna-be hipster in the tight-knit enclave of Greenwood, is at his wit's end: his wife wants a divorce, and the novel takes off on a face-paced, wildly entertaining romp that pokes fun at dog owners, yoga moms, and vegans, while digging deeper into the musings of a feminist lawyer who represents a self-absorbed, male privileged client. A refreshing read!"
--DEDE CUMMINGS, author of The Meeting Place

"A satiric, insightful, and thoroughly enjoyable look at the evolution and dissolution of an American family and the lies and truths we tell others and ourselves, from a powerful writer with a deep understanding of the chaos of modern life."
--JON MCGORAN, author of Spliced and Drift

"Margaret Klaw's keen observations about the law and human nature are eye-opening and jaw-dropping. A must-read!"
--LISA SCOTTOLINE, author of Eternal