Wolfish: Wolf, Self, and the Stories We Tell about Fear

(Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
1 other format in stock!
Product Details
Price
$29.99  $27.89
Publisher
Flatiron Books
Publish Date
Pages
432
Dimensions
6.3 X 9.4 X 1.6 inches | 1.4 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250821621

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Erica Berry is a writer based in her hometown of Portland, Oregon. Her essays can be found in print and online with The Guardian, The New York Times Magazine, The Yale Review, Outside Magazine, Catapult, The Atlantic, Guernica, and others. Winner of the Steinberg Essay Prize and the Kurt Brown Prize in Nonfiction, she is the recipient of fellowships and funding from the Bread Loaf Writers Conference, Tin House, the Minnesota State Arts Board, the Alliance for Young Artists and Writers, and the Institute for Journalism and Natural Resources. Her work has been supported through residencies at the Ucross Foundation, Monson Arts, the Marble House Project, and the Kimmel Harding Nelson Center. The 2019-2020 Writer-in-Residence and Teaching Fellow with the National Writers Series in Traverse City, Michigan, she is currently a Writer-in-the-Schools with Literary Arts in Portland, and has taught writing classes with the Sitka Center for Art and Ecology, the New York Times Student Journeys, Craigardan Residency and Education Center, and the Anna Tasca Lanza Cooking School in Sicily. Wolfish is her first book
Reviews

"Exhilarating." --The Washington Post

"Berry's braided approach renders Wolfish both a vulnerable self-investigation and a wide-ranging exploration of fear--and, ultimately, an antidote to it. She makes a stirring case for walking alongside the symbolic wolf." --The Atlantic

"A prize-winning journalist, Berry lets no one off the hook--not man nor beast nor woman. What do we fear, and when, and why? This book should be required reading." --Los Angeles Times

"A fascinating read, perfect for fans of Mary Roach's Fuzz, or anyone who enjoys learning about wolves and what they can teach about human nature." --Library Journal

"This blend of memoir and nature writing will call to those who delve deeply into themselves and into our relationship with the wild." --Booklist

"An exhilarating book--intricate, thoughtful, and thick with connections." --Megha Majumdar, New York Times bestselling author of A Burning

"[A] worthy addition to the literature surrounding wolves." --Kirkus

"[A] wise and arresting debut about the wolves--real and symbolic--that haunt American life. Blending science writing with memoir and cultural criticism, Wolfish is a powerful exploration of predators and their prey delivered with an unflinching and vulnerable honesty.... a necessary environmental memoir: that which acknowledges fear in its ongoing pursuit of hope." --Vulture

"I devoured every startling, lyrical, haunting, yet all-too-familiar page of Wolfish. Such a stunning achievement, it left me feeling like one of the pack." --Elizabeth Rush, author of Rising: Dispatches from The New American Shore, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize

"I can't stop talking about Erica Berry's debut Wolfish, a passionate and personal portrayal of the wildness in the world and ourselves. With compelling and lyrical prose that reveals a depth of knowledge and research, Berry looks not just at wolves but the wolf nature in all of us and around us, asking important questions about fear, identity, and our relationship to the natural world. The connections she spins out between world and self are both critical investigations and insightful revelations. Wolfish is a triumph of a debut, cementing Berry as an important new voice." --Lyz Lenz, author of Belabored and God Land

"Insightful and gorgeously written, Wolfish shows us that the stories we tell about predators and prey are always about more than they seem. This exploration of violence and vulnerability is a book that never stopped surprising me." --Rachel Monroe, author of Savage Appetites: True Stories of Women, Crime, and Obsession

"Wolfish starts with a single wolf and spirals through nuanced investigations of fear, gender, violence, and story. A gorgeous achievement." --Blair Braverman, author of Welcome to the Goddamn Ice Cube: Chasing Fear and Finding Home in the Great White North

"Elegant and elegiac, Wolfish asks how we live alongside, and honor, both the wilds we do such harm to and the fears that run wild within us. Erica Berry beautifully weaves literature, science, philosophy, history, and her own memories to deconstruct millenia of myth-making around wolves, urging a return to something even more powerful than the tales we've spun: untangling the creature from our fear, to better understand both it and ourselves. This is a book composed of what humanity has made, yes, but above all it's a gorgeous reminder that we, too, are part of nature." --Alex Marzano-Lesnevich, author of The Fact of a Body: A Murder and a Memoir

"Erica Berry's Wolfish is a marvel: a beautiful piece of work as wide-ranging as it is precise. Berry's keen eye and fresh, startling prose are not only an excellent guide to nature and the world around us, but also to what our reactions to the landscape tell us about ourselves--what we fear and who we might become. You won't want to miss this." --V. V. Ganeshananthan, author of Love Marriage, longlisted for the Women's Prize

"The space between humans and wolves is filled with stories, from fairy tales to family histories to our own fears and desires. With courage and insight, Erica Berry illuminates this tangled territory, inviting us to explore it for ourselves." --Michelle Nijhuis, author of Beloved Beasts: Fighting For Life in an Age of Extinction