Winterfolk

(Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
Harperteen
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.3 X 1.2 inches | 0.85 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062487001

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Janel Kolby is a poet and story writer for teens and children. She is a graduate of Hamline University's MFAC program and lives in Seattle with her family and Sunny Arms community. Winterfolk is her debut novel.

Reviews

"With its gorgeous prose, big heart, and sophisticated interplay between fantasy and reality, Winterfolk gently shows us that hope is its own kind of magic. Janel Kolby is a visionary, electrifying writer." -- Anne Ursu, National Book Award Finalist for The Real Boy

"Richly observed and wholly original, Winterfolk exists in that slippery realm between magic and reality. Rain's race to save her community and find herself while navigating the seamy underbelly of Seattle feels like a fever dream, propulsive, hallucinatory, and profoundly moving." -- Laura Ruby, National Book Award Finalist and Printz Award Winning Author of Bone Gap

"Skillfully balances hard realism with hope. A thoughtful dive into a far-too-often-overlooked part of society." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Rain's compassionate narrative illuminates emotional, psychosocial, educational, and physical challenges impacting homeless people." -- School Library Journal

"Fans of Jandy Nelson and Anna-Marie McLemore will revel in Kolby's emotional, layered prose that has a poetic quality. Rain's unique voice will propel readers through this impressive first novel that highlights a too-often overlooked part of the population. Gorgeous, expressive magical realism from a promising debut author." -- Booklist

"Winterfolk is all about Rain's unique, poetic voice, and her distant, fairy tale view of the world. It's rare to find a book that is so gentle and so brutal at once, but Rain will take your hand and show you the way through." -- NPR