Walking Practice

(Author) (Translator)
Available

Product Details

Price
$26.99  $25.10
Publisher
Harpervia
Publish Date
Pages
176
Dimensions
5.81 X 8.52 X 0.84 inches | 0.59 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780063258617

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Dolki Min is an artist and writer based in South Korea. Walking Practice is their first novel.

Victoria Caudle is a PhD student in the Department of Asian Languages and Cultures at UCLA. He completed an MA in literary translation at the University of East Anglia and has an MA in modern Korean literature from Seoul National University.

Reviews

"Elegantly written and deceptively humorous, Dolki Min's bombastic debut novel, Walking Practice, is a haunting examination of survival, gender, and the complexity of the human experience. A tremendous literary achievement."
-- Eric LaRocca, author of Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke and Other Misfortunes

"Walking Practice is an unforgettable survival story of an alien trying to survive as a human on a hostile planet. This unique and imaginative, weird and delicate sci-fi is a considerate exploration of our social structures: the gender conventions, queerness, and discrimination against the weak. A radical, darkly funny, spine-tingling story, perfect for fans of Matt Haig's The Humans and Michel Faber's Under the Skin."
-- J.M. Lee, bestselling author of Broken Summer

"Surreal, compelling, and utterly unique." -- Buzzfeed

"Walking Practice explores the burden of gender expectations, the struggle of having a flesh prison body, having to feed yourself and wanting to be loved, and even the awkwardness of dealing with other people on the subway. But what really makes this story sing is the uniqueness of the narrator's voice--both compelling and witty....It is moving and funny, critical and crass. This one is for anyone who is made to feel like an alien in their own body." -- Tor.com

"Who would come up with a story about a shapeshifting alien who crashlands on Earth, learns to walk by hunting humans and then is forced to confront their sins of survival while critiquing humankind's marginalization of Others? Dolki Min, that's who. And who would read such a story? You, if you know what's good for you." -- Ms. magazine

"An alien arrives on Earth, hungry for love. The narrator of Min's dark satire is a shape-shifting alien who crash-landed here 15 years ago. In that time, it's sampled all sorts of sustenance on our planet, but only human flesh truly satisfies. So it uses dating apps (username: Hunting4luv) to quell its cravings for sex and sustenance....Entertaining and surprising....A slim, sui generis allegory on romance and its discontents." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"There's bleak comedy aplenty in Dolki Min's Walking Practice--which makes sense, given that protagonist Mumu is a shapeshifting alien who chats with unwitting guys on the internet and then devours them. But this isn't simply an exercise in the overlap of horror and humor; instead, Mumu's observations on human gender roles and the fraught nature of nearly every interaction in the narrative give this book a substantial narrative weight, even as the text and translation also factor in some playfulness."
-- Words Without Borders

"Through this weird, funny, deeply earnest book about a killer alien who doesn't fit in on Earth, Min has crafted a queer novel about feeling out of place in one's body and its surroundings... The evident pleasure with which Min has drawn this character makes for a vibrant and memorable fictional encounter with an otherness that's not, in the end, so different."
-- The New York Times Book Review