Children of Anguish and Anarchy

Pre-Order   Ships Jun 25, 2024

Product Details

Price
$24.99  $23.24
Publisher
Henry Holt & Company
Publish Date
Pages
368
Dimensions
6.0 X 9.0 X 1.0 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250171016

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Named one of TIME magazine's 100 Most Influential People, Tomi Adeyemi is a Hugo- and Nebula Award-winning Nigerian American writer and storyteller based in New York, New York. After graduating from Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology, religion, and culture in Salvador, Brazil. Her first novel, Children of Blood and Bone, debuted at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list. Its highly anticipated sequel, Children of Virtue and Vengeance, also debuted at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list. Tomi's Legacy of Orïsha trilogy is being developed into a feature film. Tomi can be found teaching creative writing online. In 2020, she was named one of Forbes's 30 Under 30 in Media, and her website was named one of the 101 Best Websites for writers by Writer's Digest.

Reviews

Praise for the New York Times-bestselling Legacy of Orïsha series

Children of Blood and Bone

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
Amazon Top 20 Best Young Adult Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018
Chicago Public Library Best Books of 2018
New York Public Library Top Ten Showstopper Favorite of 2018 (Notable 100 Books for Kids)

"A magnificent, heartrending, earthshaking debut." --New York Times-bestselling author Daniel José Older

"High stakes, a captivating fantasy landscape, and a brave heroine worth rooting for make Children of Blood and Bone unlike anything I've ever read." --Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling co-author of Beautiful Creatures and author of The Lovely Reckless

"Powerful, captivating, and raw--Adeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional." --Kirkus, Starred Review

"Adeyemi's devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love." --Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"... Adeyemi keeps it fresh with an all-black cast of characters, a meaningful emphasis on fighting for justice, a complex heroine saving her own people, and a brand of magic made more powerful by the strength of heritage and ancestry. Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel Jose´ Older, and Sabaa Tahir." --Booklist, Starred Review

"...A refreshing YA fantasy with an all-West African cast of characters that should be on every shelf." --School Library Journal, Starred Review

"
This is an exceptional debut from the author and will have a huge audience desperately waiting for more. Children of Blood and Bone is perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Nancy Farmer, and Angie Thomas." --VOYA, Starred Review

"Nigerian culture and geography... give this fantasy a distinct flavor, further distinguished by the intensity of emotion." --Horn Book

"Meet Tomi Adeyemi--the new J.K. Rowling. (Yep, she's that good)." --Entertainment Weekly

"Poses thought-provoking questions about race, class and authority that hold up a warning mirror to our sharply divided society." -The New York Times

"A fast-paced, excellently crafted hero's journey...populated with compelling and nuanced black characters." -NPR

"A debut novel that is nearly impossible to put down."-USA Today

"Adeyemi's writing is beautiful and immersive." -Tor.com

"A miraculous achievement." -The Guardian

Children of Virtue and Vengeance

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller
A GOOD MORNING AMERICA Book Club Pick
TIME Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time
TIME 100: Most Influential People of 2020
NPR's Best Books of 2019

"Electrifying . . . With this second book Adeyemi brings a new maturity and depth to the series. Her characters are no longer underdogs on a hero's journey to return magic--now they are leaders who are suffering from the consequences and trauma of their previous quest." --The New York Times

"Like its predecessor, Children of Virtue and Vengeance is fast-paced and unafraid to ask tough questions about the cyclical nature of oppression and the systems that enforce it." --TIME

"Relentless even beyond its finish, this is a sure-fire hit." --Booklist, starred review

"Adeyemi's thrilling second Legacy of Orïsha novel ups the stakes and expands the series' mythology while extolling unity and illustrating the futility of hatred and retribution . . . A vivid, visceral tale studded with action and capped with a literary gut-punch." --Publishers Weekly

"The passion and drama in the writing are as powerful as ever . . . Readers delighted by the complex, politically sophisticated kingdom of Orïsha will cheer its return in this alluring sequel." --The Horn Book