Unsinkable

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
Harper Muse
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.3 X 0.9 inches | 0.61 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781400233946

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
JENNI L. WALSH has spent the past decade enticing readers as an award-winning advertising copywriter. Her passion lies in transporting readers to another world, be it in historical or contemporary settings. She is a proud graduate of Villanova University, and lives in the Philly 'burbs with her husband, daughter, son, and goldendoodle. She is the author of Becoming Bonnie and Bonnie.
Reviews
'An extraordinary story of two extraordinary women. Jenni L. Walsh expertly weaves together Violet's and Daphne's histories--Violet is real, Daphne an amalgamation of several real-life women--to craft a historical novel that is vivid and enthralling. There is intrigue and bravery, duty and love in these pages, and readers will keep turning them to the very end, eager to learn the fates of these two inspiring women. A joy to read.'--Kate Albus, award-winning author of A PLACE TO HANG THE MOON and NOTHING ELSE BUT MIRACLES
'An exhilarating voyage of danger, sacrifice, and ultimate triumph.'--Lynda Cohen Loigman, USA TODAY bestselling author of TWO-FAMILY HOUSE, THE WARTIME SISTERS, and THE MATCHMAKER'S GIFT
'Violet survives a shipwreck and two sinkings, but the sea still beckons. Daphne joins the armed forces during WWII to prove her worth. An inspiring tale of second chances.'--People
'With elegant prose and superb attention to detail, Walsh pulls you instantly onboard this beautiful tale of two determined, whip-smart, and truly unsinkable women. I was intrigued from page one, both Violet's and Daphne's stories sweeping me along through every harrowing moment until that perfect twist and captivating ending. A must-read for fans of unstoppable, courageous women.'--Noelle Salazar, USA TODAY bestselling author of The Flight Girls
'A stunning dual narrative spanning some of the marquee events of the early twentieth century. Violet and Daphne are compelling heroines of the first order, and one cannot help but root for their triumph from the first page through to the seamless, satisfying conclusion. Walsh is a master storyteller, and Unsinkable shows her skill at its best. Not to be missed by anyone who loves historical fiction and resilient heroines.'--Aimie K. Runyan, bestselling author of The School for German Brides and A Bakery in Paris
'I fell headfirst into this historical fiction tale featuring two powerful and resilient women, Violet and Daphne. Walsh seamlessly weaves together fact and fiction in a dual timeline narrative that keeps the reader guessing, culminating in a satisfying conclusion. The courage of both main characters lingered with me long after I turned the final page--I am so looking forward to whatever Walsh writes next!'--Amita Parikh, bestselling author of The Circus Train
'Jenni L. Walsh spins an incredible tale of survival and heartbreak in this riveting novel. Inspired by true events, the rich historical detail and tense plotting make for an unforgettable read. Historical fiction lovers, add this one to your list!'--Sara Ackerman, USA TODAY bestselling author of The Codebreaker's Secret and The Uncharted Flight of Olivia West
'Walsh's latest (after The Call of the Wrens, 2022) is a heartfelt tale of two women in two times. Unsinkable joins the ranks of other spy novels written in this vein, but Walsh's prose truly allows the reader to enter the mind and heart of each character, bringing their motivations, flaws, and desires to light...Walsh skillfully crafts two well-rounded characters who grapple with internal and external conflict, and yet who honestly earn their resolutions.'--Booklist
'. . . One of the most difficult aspects of writing historical fiction is creating authentic character mindsets, and Walsh captures this aspect beautifully . . . While history tells us what happened, through Walsh's compassionate prose, we're able to feel what happened as well. Sitting in a lifeboat, wrapped in shadows of the night, as a ship groans its last and plunges into the Atlantic to the setting of explosives in a German depot while guard dogs bark close by: these settings feel that much more authentic under Walsh's deft pen. UNSINKABLE is a story of courage, resilience, and steering your own course in life. Recommended!'--Historical Novel Society
'Move aside, Jack and Rose. It's time for another perspective on the Titanic shipwreck. New books on well-worn tales can be hard to pull off, but Jenni L. Walsh's fictional account of Violet Jessup, a real woman who survived three tragedies at sea (including the sinking of the Titanic), is fresh and riveting. Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah's THE NIGHTINGALE, UNSINKABLE shines with themes of endurance, tenacity and female empowerment. I predict UNSINKABLE will be a favorite among in-person and online book clubs.'--Reader's Digest