Twelve Tomorrows

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

$19.95  $18.55
MIT Press
Publish Date
7.0 X 9.9 X 0.9 inches | 1.4 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Wade Roush is a freelance science and technology writer, columnist at Scientific American, and host and producer of the tech-and-culture podcast Soonish. His work has appeared in Science, Xconomy, and MIT Technology Review. He is the editor of the science fiction anthology Twelve Tomorrows (MIT Press).

Clifford V. Johnson, Professor of Physics at the University of Southern California, gives many public lectures about his research and appears often in television documentaries as an expert. He has been science advisor for several movies and television series, including Marvel's Thor: Ragnarok and the National Geographic Channel's Genius. He received the American Association of Physics Teachers 2018 Klopsteg Memorial Award for outstanding communication of the excitement of contemporary physics to the general public.


Contemplative rather than showy and lurid - editor Wade Roush specifically banned dystopian tales from the book - Twelve Tomorrows will certainly provide food for thought....There's enough here to make us wonder - probably not for the first or, indeed, the last item - if drone technology, the Internet, and the quest for true artificial intelligence are really all we tend to make them out to be.


This MIT Technology Review anthology is a science-fictional exploration of emergent technologies and a veritable constellation of brilliant writers, among them Liu Cixin, Ken Liu, Alastair Reynolds, Elizabeth Bear and Sarah Pinsker... A profile of esteemed sci-fi author Samuel R. Delany is included. 'Hard' sci-fi at its best.


As a fictional primer on potential near-futures, [Twelve Tomorrows] is impressive.


Probably the best science fiction anthology of the year.

--Jonathan Strahan, introduction to The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year