This Side of Providence

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.00  $14.88
Publisher
Prospect Park Books
Publish Date
Pages
396
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.4 X 1.1 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781938849763

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Rachel M. Harper was born in Boston and raised in Providence, RI and rural Minnesota. A graduate of Brown University, she went on to earn her Master's degree from USC. Her poems and short fiction have been published in The Carolina Review, Chicago Review, African American Review, Prairie Schooner, and the anthology Mending the World: Stories of Family by Contemporary Black Writers.

Harper's first novel, Brass Ankle Blues, was a Borders Original Voices Award finalist and selected as a Target Breakout Book

She has received fellowships from Yaddo and the MacDowell Colony, and won the 2002 Fellowship in Fiction from the Rhode Island State Council on the Arts. Harper currently teaches fiction at Spalding University's brief-residency MFA in Writing Program.

Reviews


Praise for This Side of Providence

"It is a book of such power that it is as if a completely new layer of the American experience has been exposed to our view. And like many a great works of fiction, not one line is wasted and every single word rings true." -- Alice Walker, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Color Purple

"This powerful story about what it means to be a family and the struggles members endure to stay together will appeal to fans of Vanessa Diffenbaugh, Heather Gudenkauf, and dramatic family-centric fiction." -- Library Journal

"So beautifully written and incredibly compelling that I found myself not wanting to do anything but sit inside this world until everyone turned out all right. Rachel Harper is a stunning writer." --Jacqueline Woodson, author of Brown Girl Dreaming and Miracle's Boys

"The story of Arcelia's family is powerful." -- Publishers Weekly

"A truly remarkable novel. Rachel Harper writes with jagged grace and unflinching courage--a willingness to confront fear and pain through characters beautifully alive with feeling, truth, and compassion."--Scott O'Connor, author of Half World and Untouchable

"Luminous, heartbreaking, and profoundly redemptive... a hauntingly beautiful novel about the unbreakable bonds between a wounded mother and the children she tries to love.." --Rebecca Walker, author of Áde, A Love Story

"Here is a novel that can save lives... . I'll never forget these characters, or this novel." -- Sena Jeter Naslund, author of Ahab's Wife, Four Spirits, and The Fountain of St. James Court, or Portrait of the Artist as an Old Woman

"An ambitious, beautifully written, heartfelt novel that demonstrates the centrality of family under the most arduous of conditions." --Jervey Tervalon, author of Understand This and Monster's Chef

"With deep empathy and intellect, Harper paints a universal story of honest, imperfect love and hard-won family. This gorgeous book balances the gritty with the good-hearted, reminding us that only what is dark and difficult can give rise to redemption." --Neela Vaswani, author of You Have Given Me a Country

"Harper's great achievement is that of choirmaster: the arrangement of timbre and pace and keeping the voices honest and clear, and somehow pitched toward love."
-- Justin Torres, author of We the Animals

"A stunning achievement--I did not want this novel to end, but when it did, I felt a rush of cathartic joy." --K. L. Cook, author of The Girl from Charnelle and Love Songs for the Quarantined

Praise for Brass Ankle Blues, Harper's debut novel:

Selected as one of Borders' "Best Original Voices"
Selected by Target's "Break Out Books" program

"(T)he classic narrative of the transformative summer cries out for a contemporary heroine like Nellie, and the family tensions, poignant discoveries, and richly evoked setting should help this find a broad audience." --Jennifer Mattson, Booklist

"This is a marvelous novel." --The Providence Journal


Praise for This Side of Providence

"It is a book of such power that it is as if a completely new layer of the American experience has been exposed to our view. And like many a great works of fiction, not one line is wasted and every single word rings true." -- Alice Walker, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Color Purple

"This powerful story about what it means to be a family and the struggles members endure to stay together will appeal to fans of Vanessa Diffenbaugh, Heather Gudenkauf, and dramatic family-centric fiction." -- Library Journal

"So beautifully written and incredibly compelling that I found myself not wanting to do anything but sit inside this world until everyone turned out all right. Rachel Harper is a stunning writer." --Jacqueline Woodson, author of Brown Girl Dreaming and Miracle's Boys

"The story of Arcelia's family is powerful." -- Publishers Weekly

"A truly remarkable novel. Rachel Harper writes with jagged grace and unflinching courage--a willingness to confront fear and pain through characters beautifully alive with feeling, truth, and compassion."--Scott O'Connor, author of Half World and Untouchable

"Luminous, heartbreaking, and profoundly redemptive... a hauntingly beautiful novel about the unbreakable bonds between a wounded mother and the children she tries to love.." --Rebecca Walker, author of Áde, A Love Story

"Here is a novel that can save lives... . I'll never forget these characters, or this novel." -- Sena Jeter Naslund, author of Ahab's Wife, Four Spirits, and The Fountain of St. James Court, or Portrait of the Artist as an Old Woman

"An ambitious, beautifully written, heartfelt novel that demonstrates the centrality of family under the most arduous of conditions." --Jervey Tervalon, author of Understand This and Monster's Chef

"With deep empathy and intellect, Harper paints a universal story of honest, imperfect love and hard-won family. This gorgeous book balances the gritty with the good-hearted, reminding us that only what is dark and difficult can give rise to redemption." --Neela Vaswani, author of You Have Given Me a Country

"Harper's great achievement is that of choirmaster: the arrangement of timbre and pace and keeping the voices honest and clear, and somehow pitched toward love."
-- Justin Torres, author of We the Animals

"A stunning achievement--I did not want this novel to end, but when it did, I felt a rush of cathartic joy." --K. L. Cook, author of The Girl from Charnelle and Love Songs for the Quarantined

Praise for Brass Ankle Blues, Harper's debut novel:

Selected as one of Borders' "Best Original Voices"
Selected by Target's "Break Out Books" program

"(T)he classic narrative of the transformative summer cries out for a contemporary heroine like Nellie, and the family tensions, poignant discoveries, and richly evoked setting should help this find a broad audience." --Jennifer Mattson, Booklist

"This is a marvelous novel." --The Providence Journal