This Body I Wore: A Memoir

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
1 other format in stock!
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$28.00  $26.04
Publisher
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publish Date
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.76 X 8.59 X 1.08 inches | 0.98 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780374115098

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Diana Goetsch is an American poet and essayist. Her poems have appeared widely, in The New Yorker, Poetry, The Gettysburg Review, Ploughshares, The Best American Poetry, and the Pushcart Prize anthology, and in the collections Nameless Boy and In America, among others. She also wrote the "Life in Transition" blog at The American Scholar. Her honors include fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the New York Foundation for the Arts, and the New School, where she served as the Grace Paley Teaching Fellow. For twenty-one years Goetsch was a New York City public school teacher, at Stuyvesant High School and at Passages Academy in the Bronx, where she ran a creative writing program for incarcerated teens.
Reviews

A Best Book of the Year at Cosmopolitan
A Must-Read at The New York Times, The Chicago Tribune, The Bay Area Reporter, Glamour, Literary Hub, Shondaland, and CNN

"Achingly beautiful . . . Goetsch has a poetic sensibility that illuminates without simplifying . . . This Body I Wore tenderly sketches out a history of the budding trans communities that developed in the late 20th century . . . Here is an excavated history that endures in the only way it could: in the fleeting memories of those who survived, who endured and who now, like Goetsch, thrive."
--Manuel Betancourt, The New York Times Book Review

"Rarely does a book arrive so on time, blowing out the noise . . . A hilarious personal history of the full life as a trans woman. It's never pedantic or even inspirational, which is exactly why it is."
--Christopher Borrelli, The Chicago Tribune

"[Goetsch] writes about coming of age and into adulthood in an earlier era, when she didn't have the language or knowledge to understand what it meant to be trans."
--Terry Gross, NPR's Fresh Air

"A nuanced and beautiful story of a person who wants the most out of life and does everything she can to build on what that means for her."
--Sarah Neilson, Shondaland

"[This Body I Wore] not only chronicles [Goetsch's] own transition but beautifully weaves together the story of the trans community over the course of her lifetime."
--Jasmine Ting and Gretty Garcia, Cosmopolitan

"This exquisite self-portrait explores gender and trans culture from an intimately personal and enlightening perspective."
--Jim Piechota, The Bay Area Reporter

"Goetsch is an impeccable writer . . . As trans people, especially children, are now under constant and increasing attack by state governments, it's an especially urgent read."
--Jenny Singer, Glamour

"An extraordinary read that only deepens over time . . . Reading This Body I Wore is an emotional experience . . . felt just as viscerally as [it is] intellectually."
--Mara Sandroff, Newcity Lit

"Vulnerable, honest, and unabashed, so fully itself; beautiful and poetic and painful, and often very funny--a story of transition, a document of a life."
--Melissa Faliveno, Autostraddle

"Striking."
--Lesley Kennedy, CNN

"Exquisite . . . The hard-won wisdom [of] This Body I Wore offers a new generation of trans and nonbinary youth a guiding hand from a previous generation."
--Catherine Hollis, BookPage (starred review)

"Goetsch fashions a brilliant and tapestried story of her late-in-life gender transition . . . A gorgeous self-portrait that defies categorization. The result obliterates binary confines around gender with breathtaking finesse."
--Publishers Weekly

"Enthralling . . . Told with unique eloquence and tenderness . . . Hope blooms within these pages . . . A mesmerizing memoir [that] will appeal to fans of Melissa Febos and Roxane Gay."
--Alana R. Quarles, Library Journal (starred review)

"Rich, compelling . . . Often lovely and emotionally affecting . . . A valuable memoir enriched by years of personal and societal insight into the fraught subject of gender identity."
--Kirkus Reviews

"An important and beautiful memoir."
--Emily Firetog, Lit Hub

"Lyrical, harrowing, and wise. This Body I Wore, the story of one woman doing everything she can to avoid becoming herself, is a universal and profound meditation on the price of authenticity."
--Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She's Not There and Good Boy

"Moving and vividly recalled, This Body I Wore conjures the pain of a life in search of language for who you are. Diana Goetsch has written a powerful testimony of the need for transgender acceptance."
--Alex Marzano-Lesnevich, author of The Fact of a Body

"In This Body I Wore, Diana Goetsch the poet is present in every line of prose. The writing is spacious, beautiful, precise, and poignant. The reader floats through the sentences, entranced. 'Magnificent' is not an overstatement."
--Thomas Peele, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and author of Killing the Messenger

"One of the most honest, unflappable, important books I've read in a long time. Diana Goetsch writes with lyricism and grace about her struggles and triumphs with family, love, and gender identity. Everyone should be required to read this book."
--Ann Hood, author of Kitchen Yarns: Notes on Life, Love, and Food

"A book that many will cherish and few will forget. Some of us need another world, a world of the spirit, before we can live or become ourselves in this one, and Diana Goetsch has now shown us why."
--Stephanie Burt, author of Don't Read Poetry

"Clear, thoughtful, and deeply moving, This Body I Wore is an affirmation to anyone who has struggled to live an authentic life."
--Ellen Bass, author of Indigo

"The perfect prescription for today's world--compelling and lyrical in equal measures. A riveting read!"
--Danielle Ofri, MD, author of What Doctors Feel

"This Body I Wore is startling, humorous, haunting, and truly illuminating. I had chills when I began reading it and was floored by the end. A pitch-perfect memoir."
--Laurie Gwen Shapiro, author of The Stowaway