This Beauty: A Philosophy of Being Alive

(Author)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$28.00  $26.04
Publisher
Basic Books
Publish Date
Pages
240
Dimensions
5.84 X 8.49 X 0.92 inches | 0.78 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781541675506

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Nick Riggle is associate professor of philosophy at the University of San Diego. The author of On Being Awesome, he regularly lectures at top philosophy departments internationally. His work has been published in McSweeney's, Aeon, and Hyperallergic, among other outlets. He lives in San Diego, California.
Reviews
"A beautifully written philosophical ode to existence."--L.A. Paul, Yale University
"What is there to live for? What does 'YOLO' mean? And what are we doing when we try to 'seize' the day? Nick Riggle gives us a big, radiantly heartfelt, and deeply thoughtful answer in a philosophical letter to his infant son. We are here for beauty, and this beauty is not just an inner experience, but a profoundly social one. The meaning of life is in the beauty that connects us."--C. Thi Nguyen, University of Utah
"A rewarding take on beauty's central role in life."
--Publishers Weekly
"Short but wide-ranging, elegant but unpretentious, casual in style and sweeping in conception, This Beauty goes far beyond our traditional philosophy of art and places aesthetics at the very center of life. It is an ambitious and brave book--and a wise one. Read it."
--Alexander Nehamas, Princeton University
"Accessible and motivating...How inspirational to think of life being 'animated by beauty.' This convivial guide for the questioning is perfect for readers of Rob Bell and Alain de Botton." --Shelf Awareness
"Lyrical...refreshingly off-beat...A performative case for beauty's power to render life not just worth living, but worth savouring."--Times Literary Supplement
"[W]ith equal parts humor and gravitas, and lovingly peppered with personal anecdotes from his own life, Riggle weaves a poignant, autological guide to better understand not only ourselves and our inner machinations, but one that serves to help us navigate existence at large." --San Diego Union Tribune