This Ain't No Promised Land

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.80
Publisher
Kregel Publications
Publish Date
Pages
312
Dimensions
5.52 X 8.46 X 0.67 inches | 0.82 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780825448515

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Tina Shelton is registrar at Chicago Theological Seminary and a pastor in the Northern Illinois Conference of the United Methodist Church. She is also the mother of two young adults, and loves walking, working out, and traveling with her family. This is her first novel.

Reviews

Every once in a while, I come across a novel with such an unexpected, unique voice that I can't help but keep reading. Tina Shelton's This Ain't No Promised Land is that type of novel. Compelling, raw, vulnerable, and set firmly in reality, Gracey and Charlotte's story will grip readers from first page to last. Fans of Robin W. Pearson, Katie Powner, and Angela Jackson Brown will be moved by this redemptive, hopeful story about what it means to be a family.--Susie Finkbeiner, author of The All-American and The Nature of Small Birds (12/1/2023 12:00:00 AM)
In This Ain't No Promised Land, Tina Shelton delivers a fresh voice, examining how wounds can get in the way of relationships. With stellar storytelling skills, she reminds us that love isn't always enough to erase the hurts, but it's the only way to survive them. A powerful read!--Julie Cantrell, New York Times & USA Today best-selling author (12/1/2023 12:00:00 AM)
Tina Shelton's This Ain't No Promised Land is a powerful story about family--especially mothers and their daughters. How we are hurt, how we unwittingly pass on that hurt, and how we can heal too. It's gritty and unafraid to ask hard questions, all while being nestled in a vibrant 1980s South Side Chicago setting.--Janyre Tromp, best-selling author of Shadows in the Mind's Eye (12/1/2023 12:00:00 AM)
This Ain't No Promised Land captures several sweet, yet gritty coming-of-age stories. Some take me back to my childhood and others give me a glimpse into other teens' lives as they wrestle with life and family issues. Tina Shelton has creatively woven together these stories to create an excellent novel that invoked several emotions. A job well done!--Katara Patton, author of Navigating the Blues (12/1/2023 12:00:00 AM)
This book tells a story of the rich textures of family, unraveling, and finding redemption. Told through the experiences of three generations of Black women, This Ain't No Promised Land evokes the unique challenges and wells of resilience that sustain them and their families. Deeply evocative of The Women of Brewster Place, Shelton's storytelling masterfully draws us into the landscapes of place and heart, demonstrating that the thread of love is what finally saves us, even if we don't know why. A wonderful read.--Dr Stephen G Ray Jr., former president of the Society for the Study of Black Religion (12/1/2023 12:00:00 AM)