Theo Tan and the Iron Fan

Available

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
Feiwel & Friends
Publish Date
Pages
288
Dimensions
5.66 X 8.53 X 1.09 inches | 0.79 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250794369

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jesse Q. Sutanto grew up shuttling back and forth between Indonesia, Singapore, and Oxford, and considers all three places her home. She has a Masters from Oxford University, but has yet to figure out how to say that without sounding obnoxious. She has forty-two first cousins and thirty aunties and uncles, many of whom live just down the road. When she's not writing, she's gaming with her husband (mostly FPS), or making a mess in the kitchen with her two daughters. She is the author of The Obsession and The New Girl.

Reviews

"Sutanto builds an intriguing fantasy world of spirits, spells, and mythologies... the book takes readers on a well-paced journey that explores themes of identity, courage, connection, and especially grief and life after loss. ...An animated adventure centering family and friendships." -- Kirkus

Theo Tan and the Fox Spirit:

"Heart-felt and heart-pounding, this book will have you cheering Theo on as he sets out to find the magic of his heritage! (Both figurative and literal!)" -- Xiran Jay Zhao, author of the #1 NYT Bestseller Iron Widow

"Wildly imaginative, laugh-out-loud funny, and full of heart, Theo Tan is an absolute delight. I didn't want it to end!" --Nicole Lesperance, author of The Nightmare Thief and The Wide Starlight

"Brimming with imagination, heart, and delicious humor, Theo Tan is utterly unputdownable. It deals with serious and meaningful lessons like overcoming grief and rediscovering one's roots, but ultimately, it's a story about how magic lives in all of us - if we only let it shine. A total must-read! (Also, if anyone has contacts for summoning a fox spirit companion, hook me up...)" -- Graci Kim, author of The Last Fallen Star

"A page-turning story about a magical and daring quest full of sparkling humor! I especially loved Theo's sarcastic and funny fox spirit companion who isn't thrilled to be paired with Theo, but along the way, the two learn that teamwork is necessary to defeat evil. I was rooting for a reluctant Theo to connect to his Chinese heritage so that he could experience the full power of his magic!" -- Debbi Michiko Florence, author of Just Be Cool, Jenna Sakai

"Theo Tan and the Fox Spirit is brimming with wonder, heart, adventure, and enchantment. I couldn't put it down! Theo's journey of self-discovery is full of spirit, hope, and important lessons for us all. Sutanto's unique magic system blends enchantment with modern technology, creating a fresh and vibrant version of our world that you'll never want to leave. This is middle grade fantasy at its finest." --Alex Aster, award-winning author of the Emblem Island series

"Sutanto blends Chinese culture and history to build a world of dragons, demons, spell casting, and code breaking.... This is a natural choice for kids who like Rick Riordan's brand of mythology-fueled fantasy adventures, and it will be an especially good read-alike for Laurence Yep's classic Tiger's Apprentice series." -- Booklist

"In Theo and Kai's alternating perspectives, Sutanto weaves the duo's shared grief and path to healing with Theo's journey toward embracing his Chinese heritage in this rewarding fantasy adventure." -- Publishers Weekly