The Zebra Stood in the Night

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

$16.95  $15.76
Bloodaxe Books
Publish Date
5.4 X 0.3 X 8.4 inches | 0.3 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Kerry Hardie was born in 1951 and grew up in County Down. She now lives in County Kilkenny with her husband, the writer Seán Hardie. Her poems have won many prizes, including the Michael Hartnett Award for Poetry, the National Poetry Prize (Ireland), the Katherine and Patrick Kavanagh Award, the James Joyce Suspended Sentence Award (Australia) and the Lawrence O'Shaughnessy Award for Poetry. Her poems have featured in nine Bloodaxe anthologies: Staying Alive, Being Alive, Being Human, Essential Poems from the Staying Alive Trilogy, Staying Human, In Person: World Poets, The Poetry Cure, The New Irish Poets and Modern Women Poets. She published six collections with Gallery Press: A Furious Place (1996), Cry for the Hot Belly (2000), The Sky Didn't Fall (2003), The Silence Came Close (2006), Only This Room (2009) and The Ash and the Oak and the Wild Cherry Tree (2012). Her Selected Poems (2011) was published by Gallery Press in Ireland and by Bloodaxe Books in Britain. Her seventh collection, The Zebra Stood in the Night, was published by Bloodaxe Books in 2014 and shortlisted for the Irish Times-Poetry Now Award. Her eighth collection, Where Now Begins, was published by Bloodaxe in 2020. Her first novel, Hannie Bennet's Winter Marriage appeared in 2000; her second, The Bird Woman was published in 2006. Kerry Hardie is a member of Aosdána.