The Worst Ronin

Available
Product Details
Price
$18.99  $17.66
Publisher
Harperalley
Publish Date
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.98 X 8.43 X 0.94 inches | 1.4 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780358464938

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Maggie Tokuda-Hall is the author of The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea, her debut young adult novel, which was an NPR, Kirkus, School Library Journal and Book Page Best Book of 2020, and its sequel, The Siren, The Song and The Spy. Her graphic novel, Squad, is an Ignyte and Locus Award nominated comic book, and her picture book, Love in the Library, has received starred reviews from Book Page, School Library Journal, Booklist, and Publisher's Weekly. She lives in Oakland, California with her husband, two kids, and objectively perfect dog. She is perfectly capable of drowning.

Faith Schaffer is a designer and visual development artist for animation. Her art has been featured in Disenchantment, Amphibia, The Owl House, and more.

Reviews

"Maggie Tokuda-Hall's writing is a constant stream of pleasure. Faith Schaffer's art is gorgeously expressive and overflowing with fun. The best swords-and-cell phones epic you will read this year or any year for that matter." -- Jordan Morris, author of Bubble and Youth Group

"The Worst Ronin is filled with glee, heartbreak, and hilarity. A laugh-out-loud buddy story that kept me riveted. I love these gals so much!" -- MariNaomi, author and illustrator of the Life on Earth trilogy

"The Worst Ronin is a wickedly enchanting samurai adventure full of humor and even more heart. Faith Schaffer's captivating illustrations bring to life Tokuda-Hall's deeply emotional story in such a way that made this experience a sheer delight from the first panel to the last." -- Terry J. Benton-Walker, bestselling author of Blood Debts and Alex Wise vs the End of the World

"The Worst Ronin is a heartfelt and hilarious journey of self-discovery and worth. Maggie Tokuda-Hall's delightful writing and Faith Schaffer's wonderfully expressive art will you keep you engaged and delighted from start to finish. A dream team bringing a dream of a graphic novel to life!" -- Stephanie Cooke, author of Pillow Talk and Oh My Gods

"In the grand tradition of Ronin and Yokai stories comes this epic collaboration between Maggie Tokuda Hall and Faith Schaffer. Full of dark adventures and epic sword fights, this book sits well with tales like Demon Slayer and Inuyasha." -- Victoria Ying, Harvey Award Winning author of Hungry Ghost!

"Female samurai with cell phones and Wi-Fi turn feudal Japan upside down in this humorous, genre-bending graphic novel." -- Publishers Weekly

"Entertaining and empowering." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Incorporating modern technology and an offbeat contemporary tone, the authors offer an innovative blend of a modern and feudal Japan that balances weightier matters of loss and honor. Schaffer creates a commendably comedic and diverse medievalism in her myriad of goofy expressions, skin tones, and action-oriented art that well-suits the feminist, punk-rock tone of Tokuda-Hall's writing. Fans of Fumi Yoshinaga's Ooku: The Inner Chambers and N.D. Stevenson's Nimona will soon find themselves swearing fealty to this exciting new title." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)