The Wonder Years: 40 Women Over 40 on Aging, Faith, Beauty, and Strength

(Editor) (Contribution by)
& 4 more

Product Details

$16.99  $15.80
Kregel Publications
Publish Date
5.4 X 8.4 X 0.6 inches | 0.6 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Leslie Leyland Fields is the award-winning author of twelve books, the founder of Your Story Matters Ministry, and an international teacher and speaker on matters of faith and culture. When not traveling, she lives on two islands in Alaska, where she has worked in commercial fishing with her family and where she leads the Harvester Island Writers' Workshop.

Lauren F. Winner is an ordained Episcopal priest and the author of numerous books, including Girl Meets God, Real Sex, Mudhouse Sabbath, and Still, which won the Christianity Today Book Award in Spirituality. She teaches at Duke Divinity School in Durham, North Carolina. Her articles have appeared in the New York Times Book Review, The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Books & Culture, and other periodicals.

Madeleine L'Engle (1918-2007) was the Newbery Medal-winning author of more than 60 books, including the much-loved A Wrinkle in Time. Born in 1918, L'Engle grew up in New York City, Switzerland, South Carolina and Massachusetts. Her father was a reporter and her mother had studied to be a pianist, and their house was always full of musicians and theater people. L'Engle graduated cum laude from Smith College, then returned to New York to work in the theater. While touring with a play, she wrote her first book, The Small Rain, originally published in 1945. She met her future husband, Hugh Franklin, when they both appeared in The Cherry Orchard. Upon becoming Mrs. Franklin, L'Engle gave up the stage in favor of the typewriter. In the years her three children were growing up, she wrote four more novels. Hugh Franklin temporarily retired from the theater, and the family moved to western Connecticut and for ten years ran a general store. Her book Meet the Austins, an American Library Association Notable Children's Book of 1960, was based on this experience. Her science fantasy classic A Wrinkle in Time was awarded the 1963 Newbery Medal. Two companion novels, A Wind in the Door and A Swiftly Tilting Planet (a Newbery Honor book), complete what has come to be known as The Time Trilogy, a series that continues to grow in popularity with a new generation of readers. Her 1980 book A Ring of Endless Light won the Newbery Honor. L'Engle passed away in 2007 in Litchfield, Connecticut.
Elisa Morgan (MDiv) was named by Christianity Today as one of the top fifty women influencing today's church and culture. She has authored more than twenty-five books including The Beauty of Broken, Hello, Beauty Full, When We Pray Like Jesus, You Are Not Alone and Christmas Changes Everything. For twenty years, Elisa served as CEO of MOPS International and now is President Emerita. She speaks internationally, writes for Our Daily Bread, and co-hosts Discover the Word and God Hears Her for Our Daily Bread Ministries.You can find more about Elisa, book her to speak at your event and sign up for her blog, Really, which reaches thousands at Follow her on Facebook and Instagram (@elisamorganauthor). With her husband of more than forty years, Evan (Vice President of Online Learning for Our Daily Bread Ministries, she has two grown children and three grandchildren who live near her in Denver, Colorado. Her constant companion is Mia, a rough-coat Jack Russell Terrier.
Kay y su esposo Rick Warren fundaron la congregación Saddleback Church, en Lake Forest, California. Kay es una apasionada maestra de la Biblia y defensora infatigable de los que padecen enfermedades mentales, VIH y SIDA, así como también de los niños huérfanos y vulnerables que son abandonados. Además, creó la fundación Saddleback's HIV & AIDS Initiative. Sus hijos son Amy, Josh y Matthew, que está en el cielo; además tiene cinco nietos: Kaylie, Cassidy, Caleb, Cole y Claire.