The Widening Gyre

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$24.95  $23.20
Publisher
Flame Tree Press
Publish Date
Pages
256
Dimensions
6.1 X 9.0 X 1.0 inches | 1.2 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781787581456

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Born in the San Francisco bay area and raised in Napa, California, Michael R. Johnston grew up steeped in everything Science Fiction and Fantasy from Asimov to Zelazny, as well as endless terrible SF TV shows he still has a slightly embarrassed fondness for.

Faced with the choice between moving back in with his parents and continuing school, or paying his rent, he took "a year" off from college. He spent time as a court process server, a retail sales associate, a sandwich maker, and a data entry tech, before finding himself in a management role.

A decade later, burnt out from his job in political research and facing 30, he decided he'd had enough and returned to college, graduating with honors from California State University, Sacramento. In fall 2006, he became a high school English teacher, a job he likens to herding a swarm of angry bees. It's the best job he's ever had.

In 2013, he attended the 17th Viable Paradise Science Fiction Writing Workshop. The experience of having his story critiqued by other writers, some of them professionals he'd been reading for years, helped him realize he could write professionally, and introduced him to some of his best friends.

He currently lives in Sacramento, California, with his wife and daughter, surrounded by a circle of incredibly geeky and amazing people. When he's not writing or teaching, he spends time with his family, plays video games and tabletop RPGs, and reads. He blogs at MJohnstonBooks.com, and can be found on Twitter @MREJohnston.

Reviews

"Every now and then the Space Opera genre wakes up from its current day mediocrity, and something good shines under the light of a different star. This is what happened with this book." - Angelo Benuzzi "Johnston can bring up not only solid worldbuilding [...] but investigate a full spectrum of themes from belonging to friendship to personal identity and more." - ScienceFiction.com "I'll be very interested to see where Johnston goes with the next book. He has the potential to take it in some unexpected directions, and I'm hoping he does." - Locus Magazine "Johnston's debut will keep readers on the edge of their seats as the heroes get themselves into one scrape after another. It has a hint of Battlestar Galactica, but with giant reptilian aliens. Johnston, with skillful plotting and impeccable world building, takes the tale of Tajen and his crew searching for home and shapes it into an unforgettable journey." - Booklist "Fans of David Weber or Elizabeth Moon will enjoy this debut, and experienced sf readers will catch some winks at other series." - Library Journal "The story is the action-packed space opera that the synopsis suggests. But it was so much more! [...]But I think the best surprise, for me, was the introduction of LGBT characters. It was unexpected, yet done in such a casual way that it was just natural." - Astroclone