The Upper World

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$18.99  $17.66
Publisher
Harperteen
Publish Date
Pages
368
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.3 X 1.1 inches | 0.95 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780063078598

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Femi Fadugba has a master's degree from Oxford University, where he published in quantum physics and subsequently studied as a Thouron Scholar at University of Pennsylvania. Femi has worked as a science tutor as well as in solar energy and consulting. He currently lives between Peckham, London, and Baltimore, USA. The Upper World is his first book.

Reviews

"To have a book that marries real London life, time travel, and relativity in an illuminating and entertaining way is stuff I used to dream about. I had The Upper World in my hands until I finished it. So happy this exists." -- Daniel Kaluuya

"Fadugba's debut dazzles, particularly when it comes to dialogue--the London slang flows with ease. A riveting thriller that creatively incorporates scientific elements." -- Kirkus Reviews

"A time-twisting, mind-bending thrill ride. If I could read at the speed of light, I would have!" -- Holly Jackson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

"An intense debut novel...The science is complex, but the central, emotional stakes are universal: Can we change the past? Dare we hope for a better future?" -- Booklist

"The Upper World took everything I thought I knew about physics, time, space, and energy, and twisted it into a new, electrifying story that I couldn't put down!" -- Brittney Morris, nationally bestselling author of Slay

"Exploring themes including fate, gang violence, and the ethics of time travel, debut author Fadugba uses physics theories to create an absorbing dual narrative with engaging voices." -- Publishers Weekly

"A mind-bending thriller that takes you to modern-day London and then twists reality back in on itself. Tenet has nothing on The Upper World." -- Maureen Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of the Truly Devious series

"So much is packed into this relatively short audiobook.... But at its heart, it is a story of connection: to ourselves, others, and our communities. Important and relatable for all." -- Booklist (starred review)

"Fans of Jason Reynolds and Neal -Shusterman won't be able to put down this electrifying debut." -- School Library Journal