The Tobacconist

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$15.95  $14.83
Publisher
Anansi International
Publish Date
Pages
224
Dimensions
5.5 X 0.6 X 8.4 inches | 0.65 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781487002510
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Robert Seethaler was born in Vienna in 1966 and is the author of several novels, including the international bestselling, Man Booker Prize-nominated A Whole Life. He also works as an actor, including in Paolo Sorrentino's Youth. He lives in Berlin.
CHARLOTTE COLLINS studied English at Cambridge University. She worked as an actor and radio journalist in both Germany and the U.K. before becoming a literary translator. She received the Goethe-Institut's Helen and Kurt Wolff Translator's Prize for Robert Seethaler's A Whole Life, which was also a finalist for the International Booker Prize and the International DUBLIN Literary Award. She co-translated the The Eighth Life, the acclaimed novel by Nino Haratischvili, and her other translations include Seethaler's The Tobacconist and The End of Loneliness by Benedict Wells.
Reviews
In the latest from Booker-nominated Robert Seethaler, three people collide in Nazi-occupied Vienna: a teenage villager named Franz; Anezka, the vaudeville dancer he's fallen for; and Sigmund Freud, dispensing some questionable advice.--Danielle Groen "Chatelaine "
Robert Seethaler is a great storyteller who loves his characters, and he has a wonderful sense of the dramatic which never gets out of hand.--20 Minuten
I haven't read a more beautiful book in years.--SWR2 Book of the Week
With this novel Robert Seethaler has created a wonderful tale of adolescence, told with great lightness and humour -- but the dark rumblings of the hard times just starting in Vienna are always present in the background.--kulturtipp
With The Tobacconist, Robert Seethaler has succeeded in writing a wholly coherent, condensed coming-of-age novel. Not a word is wasted.--Die Presse
His unbelievable ease of writing is so pleasant.--Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung
Seethaler writes with great lightness of how reading widely and accumulating wisdom make life richer, but also more complicated.--Der Spiegel
For me, Seethaler is a great storyteller in the tradition of Polgar and Joseph Roth.--Gerhard Polt
Seethaler has achieved something uncanny with this novel. He writes with unvarnished simplicity from the heart of a great calamity -- but he does it with a lightness we've not seen since Jurek Becker's brilliant debut novel Jacob the Liar.--NZZ am Sonntag
A book about friendship in difficult times and retaining one's humanity even when scum are in power. A great novel.--WDR4
Tender, quiet, gentle, poetic -- a little treasure.--Elke Heidenreich, SWR
The Tobacconist is a stirring, affecting, extremely multi-faceted book. It's a coming-of-age novel, a love story, a portrait of society, and although it's a work of fiction it reads like an important contemporary document of the darkest period in Austria's history. All this is conveyed by Robert Seethaler with such literary lightness, precision and vivid imagery that, like the protagonist himself, the reader is inevitably swept up in the maelstrom of events.--ORF
Robert Seethaler writes about all this in a way that is understated yet captivating and very poetically powerful, stylistically confident.--Junge Welt