The Second Stop Is Jupiter

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$19.99
Publisher
Wayne State University Press
Publish Date
Pages
144
Dimensions
6.13 X 8.99 X 0.45 inches | 0.53 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780814350539
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
upfromsumdirt, Ron Davis, is an autodidactic poet and award-winning visual artist based in Lexington, Kentucky. He is the author of two previous poetry collections, Deifying a Total Darkness and To Emit Teal, and is currently storyboarding a graphic novel based on his poetry. He has also published works in anthologies and periodicals including The Future of Black: Afrofuturism, Black Comics, and Superhero Poetry; Anthology of Appalachian Writers; Hayden's Ferry Review; and more. He received the Kentucky Al Smith Award in Art in 2010 and the Southeastern Libraries Association Award for Excellence in Original Artwork in 2022. His artwork is featured in the NAACP Image Award-winning poetry collection, Perfect Black by Crystal Wilkinson and A is for Affrilachia by Frank X Walker. He was inducted as a member into the Affrilachian Poets in 2022.
Reviews
The Second Stop is Jupiter is an Afrofuturistic poetry collection that redefines what it means to explore the Black experience. Poet upfromsumdirt is different-a "supplicant surgeon & there's / no mendicancy to this mysticism"-and his imagination is a reminder of what poetry can be, that freedom is a place where caesuras and jazz riffs roam free. Destination ain't nothing but a language trap, and-if we think deeply-maybe the end of the horizon is only a beginning?--Randall Horton "author of {#289-128}: Poems, American Book Award winner" (5/1/2023 12:00:00 AM)
The Second Stop is Jupiter is speculative poetry that blends myth, folktales, and science fiction in the vein of Octavia Butler and Gayl Jones. No, it's Black critical thought that takes up Frantz Fanon and Aimé Césaire; it's Afrofuturist funk grooving on Sun Ra and George Clinton; it's Black Arts Movement in and for the twenty-first century; it's a poetry of hope and denunciation, of resistance and liberation; it's a baroque, magic realist love song. It's all these things and more. Told in three parts and a coda, it's a space opera, a fairy tale, and an epic chronicle of liberation based on the life of Harriet Tubman, followed by a final suite of love poems. It's what happens when the nine hundred ignored faces of the hero begin to tell their stories through the cracks in the facade of popular culture and rethink its single, tidy narrative arc. The music, the puns, the varied literary and cultural allusions that pull from high and low, from print, television, and internet, from astrophysics and from across the continent of Africa, along with the self-deprecating and meta-poetic, pugilistic humor that characterize upfromsumdirt's verse grab you, pull you in, and wrestle you until they bless you.--Jeremy Paden "author of world as sacred burning heart" (5/1/2023 12:00:00 AM)