The Resurrectionists

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.95  $15.76
Publisher
Bloodaxe Books
Publish Date
Pages
80
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.3 X 0.5 inches | 0.25 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781780375519

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Born in London in 1984, John Challis is the author of the pamphlet, The Black Cab (Poetry Salzburg, 2017), a 2019 New Writing North Read Regional title, and is the recipient of a Pushcart Prize and a Northern Writers' Award. In 2015 he was a poet-in-residence with the Northern Poetry Library and chosen as one of the Poetry Trust's Aldeburgh Eight. His poems have been broadcast on BBC Radio 4, and published in journals including Magma, The North, Poetry London, The Rialto, Stand, and elsewhere. John also writes reviews and essays, most recently for Wild Court, PN Review, Poetry Salzburg Review and The Poetry School. He holds a PhD in Creative Writing from Newcastle University, where he currently works as a Research Associate. His first book-length collection, The Resurrectionists, is due from Bloodaxe in 2021. He lives in Whitley Bay.

Reviews

In John Challis's superb first collection, the past has not finished with us. It pursues and provokes and questions what we're about. Entire vanished or vanishing worlds of work - on the East End docks, at Smithfield, in the pre-Murdoch print, at the wheel of a black cab - reveal vivid traffic between the living and the dead. In rich, urgent combinations of the dramatic and the lyric, Challis adds new energy to the poetry of history, in the tradition of Harrison, Smith, Dunn and Wainwright. In its embrace of both the political and the metaphysical, and in its tender regard for ordinary life the book is both timely and necessary. - Sean O'Brien
'John Challis writes with beauty and passion of the so-called every day... he gives us all majesty and a kind of shimmering quality...' - Ian McMillan
'... this is a promising debut, a collection which lingers long after reading and entices the reader back with ease.' - Andrew Taylor, Orbis