The Quiet and the Loud

(Author)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$12.99  $12.08
Publisher
Dial Books
Publish Date
Pages
380
Dimensions
5.1 X 7.9 X 1.1 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780593354599

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Helena Fox lives by the ocean on Dharawal Country in Wollongong, Australia. She mentors young writers and runs writing workshops to support mental health. Helena's debut novel, How It Feels to Float, won the Prime Minister's Literary Award and Victorian Premier's Literary Award for Writing for Young Adults in Australia, and was a Kirkus Best Book of the Year and Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year in the U.S. Helena received her MFA in Creative Writing from Warren Wilson College. She can be found mostly on Instagram at @helenafoxoz, posting pictures of the sea and talking about kindness.
Reviews
"The characters in Georgia's life are numerous and zany and wonderfully frustrating with their passions, anxieties, and idiosyncrasies. They shape the heart of this swiftly moving story that doesn't shy away from the disasters and pleasures, great and small, that come with living. . . As deeply enjoyable as it is reflective on childhood trauma and growing up, with sweet and yet emotionally mature romantic, platonic, and familial relationships, this book is a sure treat." --BCCB

"Helena Fox explores trauma, guilt and self-advocacy in this compelling and arresting novel. . . . Vivid imagery is paired with evocative prose and lyric poems, through which George comes to understand that 'you don't have to look after everyone, or protect people who have hurt you.'" --Shelf Awareness (starred review)

"Powerful, heart-tugging . . . Exquisitely encapsulates the complexity [of feeling, and] the breathtaking relief of seeking help and learning that the support of others makes you stronger, never weaker. . . . Perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow." --Books+Publishing

"Lyrical and evocative . . . Vivid . . . Laced throughout [are] engaging descriptions of Georgia's burgeoning romance." --Kirkus

"Heartbreaking yet uplifting and hopeful . . . with complex characters that weave their way into your heart. [Helena] Fox gives us yet another beautiful novel that we highly recommend for those who want to steep in the intricacies of life and advocating for yourself." --EveryQueer.com

"A sensitive portrayal of complex PTSD. Flashbacks and lyrical descriptions of George's art add further dimension." --Booklist

"A story about friendship and boundaries. About the end of the world and change. If you're looking for an introspective, character-driven story that manages to be both quiet and loud, then read this one. . . . A brilliant [story] with a rich emotional tapestry." --Utopia State of Mind