The Phoenix King

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$19.99  $18.59
Publisher
Orbit
Publish Date
Pages
512
Dimensions
5.83 X 9.13 X 1.42 inches | 1.27 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780316522779

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Aparna Verma was born in India and immigrated to the United States when she was two. She graduated from Stanford University with Honors in the Arts and a B.A. in English. The Phoenix King is her first novel. When she is not writing, Aparna likes to ride horses, dance to Bollywood music, and find old cafes in which to read myths about forgotten worlds.
Reviews
"A captivating adventure from a gifted new voice."--Peter V. Brett, New York Times bestselling author of the Demon Cycle
"The kind of book you sit down with to read one chapter and end up spending the whole day on. Come for the science fantasy worldbuilding and stay for the characters you just can't get out of your head."--Vaishnavi Patel, New York Times bestselling author of Kaikeyi
"Vast and fascinating....A satisfying slow-burn romance only enhances the political machinations. This exciting fantasy promises good things from the series to come."--Publishers Weekly
"Verma seamlessly blends fantasy with sci-fi....A highly recommended read."--Fantasy Hive
"A heady and seamless blend of sci fi and fantasy infused with Indian inspiration. An engrossing read that will have you quickly turning through the chapters."--R.R. Virdi, USA Today bestselling author of The First Binding
"The worldbuilding is seamlessly woven into the plot, alongside the threads of love, sacrifice, betrayal, and greed. There's also a dash of enemies-to-lovers romance among the morally gray characters, who are both heartbreaking and inspiring. This is elegant and intelligent storytelling that starts out as conniving and treacherous intrigue and transforms into an exhilarating adventure without losing that touch of mystery. Perfect for fans of S.A. Chakraborty."--Library Journal
"A riveting page-turner...which will leave readers anxiously awaiting the next book."--Booklist
"The story is so captivating enough that it's worth having to wait for the next installment. This is Aparna Verma's first novel, but if it's any indication of her future work, readers should be excited to discover what she has to offer."--Cosmic Circus