The No-Girlfriend Rule

Available
Product Details
Price
$19.99  $18.59
Publisher
Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publish Date
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.7 X 8.5 X 1.3 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781665939812

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Christen Randall (she/they) is a queer, fat, neurodivergent author of queer, fat, neurodiverse books. When they're not writing joyful stories for the next generation of geeky gay kids, you can find them working at their local library branch or at home planning all the D&D campaigns they'll run one day, they swear. Christen lives in Covington, Kentucky. The No-Girlfriend Rule is her debut novel. Visit Christen online at ByChristenRandall.com and on social media @ByCRandall.
Reviews
"The No-Girlfriend Rule is a magical, heartwarming story as much about finding love as it is about finding yourself and your people. A natural 20 of a book." --Rachael Lippincott, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of She Gets the Girl and Five Feet Apart
"A delightful queer coming-of-age story of first love, friendship, and self-worth. This book had my heart fluttering with feels." --Ashley Herring Blake, award-winning author of Delilah Green Doesn't Care
"This book is the queer romance, RPG adventure, and story of self-acceptance we all need. I wanted to hug every page!" --Amy Ratcliffe, author of Star Wars: Women of the Galaxy and editor-in-chief of Nerdist
"The No-Girlfriend Rule is the fat, nerdy book of my dreams. A beautiful reminder that if you've ever felt like an 'other, ' there is still space for you at the table." --Crystal Maldonado, award-winning author of Fat Chance, Charlie Vega
"The perfect blend of romance, geekery, self-discovery, and creative storytelling, The No-Girlfriend Rule affirms that even the bumpiest journeys can have joyful endings." --Dahlia Adler, author of Cool for the Summer and Home Field Advantage
★ "In this dazzling debut, Randall navigates serious topics such as mental health and toxic masculinity alongside joyful themes surrounding self-realization and cultivating genuine camaraderie and affirming safe spaces. A fully realized cast helps to flesh out Hollis and Aini's developing connection and their individual quests for happiness against a lived-in-feeling gaming backdrop."--Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW
"What began as a desire to have something more in common with [her boyfriend] becomes an outlet through which Hollis finds valuable things she hasn't had before--confidence, artistic inspiration, and relationships that are more honest and open. . . Many readers will feel seen in these pages."--Kirkus Reviews
★ "This sparkling debut is a love letter to queer, fat, neurodivergent girls and to the importance of friendship, chosen family, and LGBTQ-inclusive spaces. The romance between Hollis and Aini is endearing and joyous, and it's underscored by the depth of the friendships that Hollis makes among the entire S&S crew."--Booklist, STARRED REVIEW
★ "Fans of Dungeons & Dragons and Amy Spalding's No Boy Summer will cheer for Hollis in this joyful and inspiring coming-of-age romance."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED Review
"A geeky, joyful quest for self-discovery. A gem." --Marieke Nijkamp, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of This Is Where It Ends and Critical Role: Vox Machina - Kith & Kin