The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone

Available

Product Details

Price
$17.00  $15.81
Publisher
Berkley Books
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.1 X 7.9 X 0.9 inches | 1.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780593546475

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Audrey Burges writes novels, humor, short fiction, and essays in Richmond, Virginia. Her presence is tolerated by her two rambunctious children and very patient husband, all of whom have become practiced at making supportive faces when she shouts, "listen to this sentence!" She is a frequent contributor to numerous humor outlets, including McSweeney's, and her stories and essays have appeared in Pithead Chapel, Cease, Cows, and lengthy diatribes in the Notes app on her phone. Audrey was born and raised in Arizona by her linguist parents, which is a lot like being raised by wolves, but with better grammar. She moved to Virginia as an adult but still carries mountains and canyons in her heart, and sometimes, when she closes her eyes, she can still smell ponderosa pines in the sun.

Reviews

"Audrey Burges has written a sure-fire hit--lively, stylish, and full of heart. The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone is decorated with gorgeous wordsmithery and magical trimmings, and I loved every minute spent inside."--Sarah Addison Allen, New York Times bestselling author of Other Birds

"The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone is that rare novel: a generous, big-hearted reprieve from our ever-more-troubling reality; a modern fairy tale about how we carry the burdens that choose us, and the magic of finding shelter--and love--when both seem meant for other people. Audrey Burges is a storyteller of warmth, wit, and stunning originality."--Katie Gutierrez, bestselling author of More Than You'll Ever Know

"The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone is a refreshing and unique entry into the genre of mystical realism. Quirky and scarred yet very authentic characters populate this richly told tale of friendship, family, and timeless love. Perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and for all book lovers searching for a fantastic read."--Karen White, New York Times bestselling author

"There's nothing small about the worlds Burges makes. Inside her minuscule mansion are entire worlds, a fated romance, and the answers to more than one mystery. Readers of The Lost Apothecary will devour The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone. Love, loss, and loneliness: this book explores it all, with Burges' characteristic humor and care. This book is a winner."--Rachel Mans McKenny, award-winning author of The Butterfly Effect

"The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone is a poignant, beautiful debut filled with magic, fate and redemption. This story captured my imagination and I just had to keep reading to see how it would end. I enjoyed every page."--Rachel Linden, author of The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie

"This well-written novel with heart-warming characters is perfect for fans of magical realism by the likes of Sarah Addison Allen and Isabel Allende."--Library Journal

"This creative, engaging debut weaves together an unusual family legacy, a romance between two lonely souls, and a touch of magic in the form of a tiny mansion that seems to know what's best for everyone."--Booklist

"Burges creates a magical, unique world, and her characters are incredibly lovable...The story alternates between the present and past, slowly weaving together storylines that are extremely satisfying when they finally come together. Perfect for readers who long to escape into a world of magic and romance."--Kirkus Reviews

"This captivating novel of miniature furniture and big themes braids strong friendships, romance, family ties and the importance of stepping outside of one's comfort zone."--Shelf Awareness

"Audrey Burges's The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone charmingly combines threads of magic, whimsy, romance, grief and loss in a debut novel of great feeling...This captivating novel of miniature furniture and big themes braids strong friendships, romance, family ties, and the importance of stepping outside of one's comfort zone."--Shelf Awareness