The Many Masks of Andy Zhou

(Author)
Available
Product Details
Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
Dial Books
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.4 X 1.3 inches | 0.95 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780525553823

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Jack Cheng is a Shanghai-born, Detroit-based author of critically acclaimed fiction for young readers. His debut middle grade novel, See You in the Cosmos, won the Golden Kite and Great Lakes, Great Reads awards. Jack has visited schools across the globe speaking with students about finding their paths as writers and artists. He is a 2019 Kresge Artist Fellow.
Reviews
"This book sings with beautiful writing and rich detail. Seeing Andy come into his own is a joy and a journey." --Tae Keller, Newbery Award-winning author of When You Trap a Tiger

"There's an aching poignancy [here]. This moving novel about self-discovery will resonate with kids navigating the shifting waters of middle school." --BCCB

"This thoughtful novel beautifully and naturally depicts Chinese American family life and the first year of middle school . . . This novel explores necessary topics and productively packages them in a great story about friendship, forgiveness, and family." --Common Sense Media

"Cheng's comedic timing and poignant use of metaphor make it easy to picture Andy's anxiety and self-consciousness, [and] rich descriptions abound of Andy's Chinese and Jameel's Chaldean cultures . . . A beautiful, contemplative novel that will stay with readers. Recommended for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Nicole Melleby." --School Library Journal

"Readers will find a friend in Andy--a kind-hearted kid trying to find his footing while caring for those around him. Andy contains multitudes, like all of us. Another beautiful book by Jack Cheng." --Erin Entrada Kelly, Newbery Award-winning author of Hello, Universe

"Beautifully written and contemplative, [full of] complexity and nuance." --Book Riot

"Andy's quiet courage and budding artistry have readers cheering him on as he searches to define himself and learns there are no boundaries to who we are--and who we can become. With honesty and gentle humor, Jack Cheng explores the joys and heartaches of growing up." --Paula Yoo, National Book Award longlisted-author of From a Whisper to a Rallying Cry

"[A] realistic, character-driven middle-grade story that explores multiple issues. . . . Compelling." --Booklist

"Cheng draws on personal experience, detailed in an author's note, to pen this novel of internal and interpersonal tensions that touches on mental health . . . The message of becoming one's authentic self comes through loud and clear." --Publishers Weekly

"Cheng succeeds in capturing the nuances of shifting relationship dynamics during the vulnerable early years of adolescence, including mental health struggles. . . . The story has a sincere heart that will resonate with tweens as they recognize themselves and their friends in the pages. A perceptive coming-of-age tale that captures the joys and complex anxieties of middle school." --Kirkus