The Magical Imperfect

(Author)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$16.99  $15.80
Publisher
Feiwel & Friends
Publish Date
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.3 X 1.3 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250767820

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Chris Baron is a professor of English at San Diego City College. His first novel, All of Me, was a Southern California Independent Booksellers Association bestseller; A BookRiot Best Children's Book About Kindness; and an NCTE Notable Book. Newbery Medalist Matt de la Pena called it, "Beautifully written, brilliant, and necessary." Chris Baron lives in San Diego with his family.
Reviews

A Sydney Taylor Book Award Notable Book
A Junior Library Guild Selection

Highly recommended...satisfyingly blends empathy, a range of diversity, and youthful possibility with serendipity's sparkle. Perfect for readers of Wonder and Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe. --
Booklist magazine, starred review

Etan's honest and lovable voice, and its growing strength, that carries this tender novel.
--Publishers Weekly

Written in first person, this lyrical novel-in-verse invites readers into Etan's world, who will be drawn in by his very silence and how friendship relies on listening just as much as speaking.--School Library Journal

[P]aints a beau-ti-ful pic-ture of inter-twined fam-i-lies, of a com-mu-ni-ty dis-cov-er-ing its strengths, immi-gra-tion across gen-er-a-tions of Amer-i-cans, and the unlike-ly friend-ship between two kids try-ing to find their place in the world. --Jewish Book Council

This story might remind you of the book Wonder. --The Week Junior

Musical, enchanting, powerful. --Double the Books Magazine

Baron captures both small personal moments and historical events by deploying the perfect detail, dialogue snippet or plot puzzle-piece at the perfect time. --The San Diego Union Tribune

Praise for All of Me:

A Southern California Independent Booksellers Association BESTSELLER!
BookRiot Best Children's Books about Kindness
Nerdy Book Club 2019 Award, Novels-in-Verse
A Literacious Favorite Middle-Grade Book of 2019
A National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) Notable Book

If you have ever felt lost in the world, betrayed by your body or buoyed by a glimmer of hope or the glow of friendship, then All of Me could be your story, too. --The Los Angeles Times

All of Me is for anyone who has been in search of a tribe, in love with a friend or in need of answers to questions that they can't bring themselves to ask. In other words, everybody.
--San Diego Union Tribune

Astute and stun-ning. All of Me is high-ly rec-om-mend-ed and offers an elo-quent and often-heart-break-ing glimpse into the expe-ri-ences of a lay-ered, com-plex and relat-able pro-tag-o-nist. Read-ers will sure-ly root for Ari as his sto-ry unfolds. --Jewish Book Council

[A] beautifully written and psychologically acute debut. Readers will be glad to accompany Ari on his journey to self-discovery. -- Booklist magazine

Any reader who has felt like an outsider will be drawn to Ari's story, which means his audience should be legion. --The Horn Book Magazine

Baron's free-verse poetry is immediate and lyrical, allowing us access to Ari's thoughts and feelings in a way that prose would not. Baron's first-person narration allows the reader to experience Ari's pain and revelations, both of which are balanced with moments of grace and beauty....highly recommended for readers of all ages. --Bookpage

A unique perspective on weight loss and family told in beautiful, pitch perfect verse. --Happily Ever Elephants Blog

Tackling such difficult subjects as anti-Semitism, self-harm, and family instability with heart-breaking honesty and grace, All of Me deftly explores the complex layers of what it means to come of age. Baron's evocative verse beautifully expresses the depth of Ari's feelings; he will be a lifeline to anyone unsure of how they fit in the world. --Joy McCullogh, National Book Award nominated author of Blood Water Paint

I LOVE THIS BOOK. A moving and raw story that will stay with me. --Remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky

In page after page of gorgeous verse, Chris Baron tells a story of hard-won healing, self acceptance, and hope. --Jarrett Lerner, author of EngiNerds and the Geeger the Robot series

"Chris Baron's gorgeous debut shines with strength, vulnerability, and humor. Ari's journey to self-acceptance is hopeful and inspiring." --Jen Petro-Roy, author of Good Enough: A Novel

Ari's story of love and loss and learning to live life on his own terms broke my heart and put it back together again. Beautiful and necessary! --Kelly deVos, author of Fat Girl on a Plane

Baron's writing is quick-witted and full of depth, allowing complicated characters to navigate growing up, identity and struggling with heavy things -- not just body image and bullying but absent parents, self-harm, faith, first loves, interrupted friendships and more. The book is compelling, hopeful and a total page-turner. --The Voice of San Diego magazine

A powerful story, beautifully told. Highly recommended. --Middle Grade Minded Blog