The Lindbergh Nanny

Available
Product Details
Price
$29.00  $26.97
Publisher
Minotaur Books
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
6.32 X 9.49 X 1.05 inches | 1.07 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250827401

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
MARIAH FREDERICKS was born, raised, and still lives in New York City. She graduated from Vassar College with a degree in history. She is the author of the Jane Prescott mystery series, which has twice been nominated for the Mary Higgins Clark Award, as well as several YA novels.
Reviews

"Most Anticipated Book of Fall 2022"--CrimeReads
"Best Historical Fiction of Fall 2022"--Book Bub
"8 Fiction Books for the History Buff"--Canadian Living

"The reader feels Betty's agony, and the suspicion levied upon her for what she did or didn't do. Fredericks fills in substantial details from real life, but never forgets to put the human cost, and its lasting damage, at the forefront of her narrative."--The New York Times

"An admirable and involving historical novel. Its early sections bring the reader intimately into Betty's eventful upstairs-downstairs world, making the latter parts--including the nanny's participation in the accused kidnapper's trial--all the more dramatic."--Wall Street Journal

"Mariah Fredericks has combined research and a novelist's imagination to produce an unusually sophisticated and moving piece of historical fiction. You'd think this tale would be stripped to its bones by now, but Fredericks has found something new in it, with Gow as its spine."--Lisa Henricksson, Air Mail

"A terrific read from a seriously thoughtful writer."--The Daily Mail (UK)

"A poignant crime novel... Fredericks creates suspense for even those familiar with the case by suggesting the real-life culprit had accomplices, thus rendering everyone a suspect. Betty's distress and distrust are palpable, heightening anxiety. Historical mystery fans and true crime aficionados will be well pleased."--Publishers Weekly

"Mariah Fredericks is an expert at capturing history's ordinary voices in extraordinary circumstances, and The Lindbergh Nanny is her best yet. An eyewitness view of a still-shocking event that makes for perfect historical fiction." --Crime Reads, "21 New and Upcoming Historical Fiction Titles to Check Out This Summer"

"Carefully researched . . .This is a compelling story about a courageous woman nearly forgotten by history, with a bittersweet mix of sorrow and redemption; for readers who enjoy Jennifer Chiaverini, Marie Benedict, or Melanie Benjamin."--Booklist

"Fredericks is especially adept at historical settings, and this book doesn't disappoint. The Lindbergh Nanny can cross-over in all kinds of directions, and should appeal to readers of crime fiction, historical fiction, women's fiction and those just needing a solid read."--First Clue (starred review)

"A bold and creative retelling of the Lindbergh baby kidnapping, a masterful blending of fact and fiction that is as compelling as it is entertaining. We know how this tragedy ends, but Mariah Fredericks takes us on an extraordinary journey along a different path to get there. The writing is superb and the characters--real and fictional--come alive on every page." --Nelson DeMille, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Gripping and elegant, The Lindbergh Nanny brings readers into the interior of the twentieth century's most infamous crime. Mariah Fredericks has meticulously crafted a story about the darkest pieces of celebrity, the unlikely people who get caught in its wake, and--most importantly--the heartbreaking loss of an innocent child."--Nina de Gramont, New York Times bestselling author of The Christie Affair

"The Lindbergh Nanny is without doubt one of the most spellbinding and compulsively readable novels I've read in a long time, a dazzling take on a most infamous and horrific kidnapping. You will not be able to put this book down. Highly, highly recommended!" --Douglas Preston, #1 New York Times bestselling co-author with Lincoln Child of the Agent Pendergast series

"A compelling, fast-paced, and always humane keyhole view of the kidnapping, murder, and criminal investigation of golden-boy aviator Charles Lindbergh's son--from the below-stairs nanny, Betty Gow--who must find the real killer to avoid being charged herself. A fresh, penetrating, and profound take on "the crime of the century.""--Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the New York Times bestselling Maggie Hope series and Mother Daughter Traitor Spy

"Suspenseful and compelling, The Lindbergh Nanny is one of the best historical novels I have read in recent years. In Fredericks' deft hands, Betty Gow is vulnerable, observant, and utterly relatable. The pacing is perfect, the emotional stakes high, and the secondary characters, with all their flaws, are sensitively portrayed. Fans of Sarah Blake, Jennifer Egan, and Kate Morton will find much to love here. Not to be missed by anyone who loves well-wrought historical fiction with a humane spirit." --Karen Odden, USA Today bestselling author of Down a Dark River

"This startling, empathetic, intimate novel makes for gripping reading. Mariah Fredericks forces you to think anew about an infamous crime, and the culpability of all the characters caught up in it." --Clare McHugh, author of A Most English Princess