The Life She Was Given: A Moving and Emotional Saga of Family and Resilient Women

Available
Product Details
Price
$15.95  $14.83
Publisher
Kensington Publishing Corporation
Publish Date
Pages
368
Dimensions
5.4 X 7.9 X 1.5 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781617734496

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Ellen Marie Wiseman is the New York Times bestselling author of highly acclaimed historical fiction novels The Orphan Collector, What She Left Behind, The Plum Tree, Coal River and The Life She Was Given, which was a Great Group Reads selection of the Women's National Book Association and National Reading Group Month. Born and raised in Three Mile Bay, a tiny hamlet in Northern New York, she's a first-generation German American who discovered her love of reading and writing while attending first grade in one of the last one-room schoolhouses in New York State. Since then, her novels have been translated into eighteen languages and published worldwide. A mother of two, Ellen lives on the shores of Lake Ontario with her husband and dogs. She can be found online at: EllenMarieWiseman.com
Reviews
"A can't-put-it-down novel of family secrets involving two young girls who only seek to be loved. Perfect for book clubs and readers who admired Sara Gruen's Like Water for Elephants."
--Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW

"A vibrant maze of desires. The sharp divide between expectations and painful truths, mothers and daughters, past and present, culminate in a sensational finale."
--ForeWord Reviews

"Wiseman has created two equally compelling story lines that gradually reveal the commonalities between them. This well-crafted novel provides rewards throughout."
--Publishers Weekly

"Ellen Marie Wiseman is noted for capturing little known pockets of American life and depicting them with heart and insight; her latest novel may be her most harrowing yet . . . The author's in-depth knowledge of traveling circuses and "freak shows" of the era is evident. The novel seamlessly blends mystery and history with compelling and well-researched details. The two women in the book, though separated by time, demonstrate resilience in the face of despair. Thematic elements include religious extremism; the many forms of love; and strength under adverse circumstances."
--The Historical Novels Review

"Wiseman excels at creating an atmosphere . . . Her characters are all vividly drawn and complex, especially Lilly's abusive mother, Coralline. But at the heart of Wiseman's tale of loss and redemption are Lilly and Julia, connected in spirit by their determination to overcome years of pain and sorrow. Fans of Karen White and Sara Gruen will be drawn in by the drama and mystery of Wiseman's novel." --BookPage