The Keeper of Lost Art

Pre-Order   Ships Nov 12, 2024
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$18.99  $17.66
Publisher
William Morrow & Company
Publish Date
Pages
384
Dimensions
0.0 X 0.0 X 0.0 inches | 0.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780063206014

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Laura Morelli holds a PhD in art history from Yale University and has taught at the college level in the United States and in Italy. She is a TED-Ed educator and a columnist for National Geographic Traveler and Italy Magazine. Her debut novel, The Gondola Maker, garnered IPPY and Benjamin Franklin awards.

Reviews

"The Night Portrait by Laura Morelli, which links Renaissance Italy and the crucible of World War Two in the most absorbing and innovative fashion, is also a novel of profound emotional resonance. A respected art historian, Morelli brings an exceptional depth of research and understanding to a story already made memorable by her beautiful prose. This is a truly original novel that has earned its place among my favorite works of historical fiction." -- Jennifer Robson, bestselling author of Coronation Year

"In a brilliantly written narrative that deftly cuts back and forth between the 15th and the 20th centuries, Morelli brings to vivid life the attempts by a German art restorer and an American soldier to rescue works of art from the destruction of war. This is a compelling story of two heroic people, of the young Cecelia who posed for Da Vinci, the artist, and the times they lived in. I am left with an affirmation of the crucial importance of art to a culture and the power of individual action." -- Frances Mayes, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Under the Tuscan Sun

"Laura Morelli's The Night Portrait is simply a masterpiece. Morelli imagines a sophisticated plot, fleshes it out with historically significant characters, and spins it into a truly spectacular read. Rarely have I been so caught up in a book as I was with this unforgettable tale of bravery and love, hope and redemption. Fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See will delight in this epic novel." -- Lori Nelson Spielman, international bestselling author

"Laura Morelli's The Night Portrait is a gorgeous and propulsive novel that brings to dramatic life the stories of Leonardo da Vinci, the subject of one of his most famous paintings, and the Monuments Men's quest to rescue that masterpiece from the Nazis during World War II. This stunning novel is a great masterpiece on its own, making you see old stories--and old art--in fresh, new ways. Perfect for any art lover or anyone who wants to understand why we all must care about the history of art." -- Stephanie Storey, author of Oil and Marble and Raphael, Painter in Rome

"The Night Portrait is an astonishing, epic tale that seamlessly spans centuries of history and art, encompassing the beauty of the Renaissance and the horrible truths of Nazi Germany. Masterfully imagined and unforgettable, this riveting novel shows us the power of art to bring hope in a world of despair." -- Crystal King, author of The Chef's Secret