The Islands of Elsewhere

Available

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
Rocky Pond Books
Publish Date
Pages
224
Dimensions
5.6 X 8.2 X 0.8 inches | 0.75 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780593530528

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Heather Fawcett writes books for adults, kids, and teens, including the Even the Darkest Stars series, Ember and the Ice Dragons, The Language of Ghosts, Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries, and more. She has a master's degree in English Literature and a bachelor's in Archaeology.

Reviews

"In addition to the strong characterization and magical setting, the story weaves in realistic topics that many children will recognize from their own lives, including bullying, aging grandparents, and divorced parents, all the while validating their feelings . . . A charming family story with a touch of fairy-tale atmosphere." --Kirkus

"Via a cozy, magic-dusted family story that features a bewitching setting, Fawcett creates endearing and affectionate characters with realistic tensions--especially between scientifically minded Bee and her more imaginative family members--whose individual strengths help solve the central mystery." --Publishers Weekly

"Fawcett's poignant story about imaginary worlds and very real problems, with its tongue-in-cheek nostalgic narration, is perfect for fans of Catherynne M. Valente and magical mysteries." --Booklist

"Watching the sisters move from bickering to cooperation and back is a delight, and Fawcett has a knack for making even marine-life characters essential to the story, allowing the offbeat town to develop beyond its considerable quirkiness. Complicated topics (First Nations displacement, housing inequality, family feuds) don't bog the narrative down, allowing the focus to remain on the core adventure and the bonds of sisterhood." --Horn Book

"Relatable issues are presented honestly, including sibling issues, divorced parents co-parenting, and aging grandparents.VERDICT With well-developed characters, this will have readers rooting for a solution to Granddaddy'sproblems, while savoring the slightly spooky, heart-thumping fairy tale." --School Library Journal