The Hacienda

Available

Product Details

Price
$17.00  $15.81
Publisher
Berkley Books
Publish Date
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.1 X 0.9 inches | 0.65 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780593436707

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Isabel Cañas is a Mexican-American speculative fiction writer. After having lived in Mexico, Scotland, Egypt, and Turkey, among other places, she has settled (for now) in New York City. She holds a doctorate in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations and writes fiction inspired by her research and her heritage.

Reviews

"A thing of uncanny, chilling beauty. Hauntings, exorcisms, incantations, forbidden love -- The Hacienda transports one to a world where love triumphs over demons."
--The New York Times

"[R]omantic, frightening, claustrophobic, and entirely satisfying."
--Vulture

"A tale of romance, dread, and supernatural menace."
--Harper's Bazaar

"[A] gothic tale of doomed love and vengeful spirits."
--The Washington Post

"[A] chilling Mexican gothic horror, full of suspense that will have you tethered to each page."
--NPR

"This Gothic thriller is *impossible* to put down."
--Cosmopolitan

"Looking for supernatural suspense, forbidden love and a history lesson set in the aftermath of the Mexican War of Independence? Pick up The Hacienda."
--Parade

"Don't read this gothic horror right before bedtime, especially if you're prone to nightmares."
--Good Housekeeping

"[A] dazzling debut....Yeah, this one will keep you up at night, muttering 'one last page."
--E! News

"A deliciously haunting novel that slithers into your mind and keeps you dreaming of it."
--Buzzfeed

"After you read and enjoy Mexican Gothic, pick up this beautifully unsettling tale. Set in post-Independence War Mexico, this chilling suspense novel will leave you with chills as you follow the terrifying haunting at Hacienda San Isidro."
--Glamour

"
Pretty much the perfect Gothic novel... meaning it reads like a brilliant piece of historical fiction and a, 'Okay, I'm gonna need to sleep with the lights on now, ' horror novel."
--Jezebel

"The scary, atmospheric, gorgeous Gothic of my dreams."
--Rachel Hawkins, New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs

"Gothic terror at its best, layered with tension: class, religious, and sexual. You will be so immersed in its skillful storytelling that the hours will vanish."
--Simone St. James, New York Times bestselling author of The Sun Down Motel

"A haunted history, a gory gothic, a forbidden romance. This book kept me up at night, and it was worth every second of lost sleep."
--Alix E. Harrow, New York Times bestselling author of The Once and Future Witches

"A hypnotic, sinister tale that is equal parts terrifying and luxurious. Cañas's debut is a nightmare lined with velvet."
--Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves

"The Hacienda is a perfect gothic and Cañas is not afraid to pull in the horror element. An impressive debut."
--Jayne Ann Krentz, New York Times bestselling author of Lightning in a Mirror

"A haunting gorgeous tale of doomed love, vengeful spirits, and tortured faith that I could not put down."
--S.A. Chakraborty, bestselling author of The Empire of Gold

"Lush, sinister, and darkly romantic. The Hacienda is a haunting and brilliant debut."
--Alexis Henderson, author of The Year of the Witching

"Absolutely enthralling--I read it in one sitting because its vivid prose and spectacular twists and turns made it impossible to put down."
--Genevieve Gornichec, bestselling author of The Witch's Heart

"As romantic as it is terrifying, The Hacienda is a lush, atmospheric read that never pulls any punches. Horror fans, fantasy fans, and romance fans will all find something to love here."
--Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For the Wolf

"A stunning, spellbinding debut. The Hacienda is bone-chilling and gloriously gothic. Absolutely unmissable."
--Rachel Harrison, author of The Return

"The Hacienda is a ghost story that also earns its place as literature. Cañas is a name to watch."
--Daniel Abraham, co-author of The Expanse series

"[A] spooky Gothic story full of supernatural flourishes."
--PopSugar

"Cañas clearly knows the genre, alternately deploying and subverting haunted house tropes. The result is a brilliant contribution to the new wave of postcolonial Gothics. Readers won't want to miss this."
--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Lush, beautiful, and completely deserving of the comparisons to Rebecca, The Hacienda is essential reading in the gothic revival."
--CrimeReads

"[A] blend of horror and mystery with a gothic heart, complete with a heroine on the brink of madness, running into the night in fear. This chilling read exposes the rotting soul of colonialism and manages to be wildly entertaining while doing so."
--Shelf Awareness

"Debut gothic thrills appropriately billed for fans of Silvia Moreno-Garcia's Mexican Gothic and Oyinkan Braithwaite's My Sister, the Serial Killer."
--Library Journal

"If you love the Gothic Horror genre but are keen to see a heroine with more agency and a story with plenty of bite, The Hacienda just might be what you've been looking for."
--Mystery & Suspense

"If you like gothic horror (creepy manors and the like), then you'll love this highly anticipated thriller that takes place at a haunted hacienda."
--Betches

"Reminiscent of both Jane Eyre and Carol Goodman's The Widow's House (2017), this can be offered to fans of Gothic suspense."
--Booklist

"As much a historical novel with an underlying political commentary as it is a thriller with a good mystery at its core."
--Book Riot

"[A] remarkable blend of suspense, horror, romance and supernatural gothic....[A] magical combination, not only of genres and vivid character and story arcs, but of ideas - explorations of racism, oppression, power, resilience and resistance. It'll also scare the pants off you, its lush, hypnotic prose causing you to stare into the shadows."
--Booktrib

"This gothic novel will pull you in with vivid language and drop you into a sinister world. Reminiscent of Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier in its setup, this story is infused with a much darker horror....Cañas has created engaging characters in Beatriz, Andrés, and, yes, the house, but beware of blood and supernatural violence. The pages turn quickly to a faultless, satisfying ending."
--Historical Novel Society

"[T]his haunted and haunting novel is just the terrifying gothic debut you want to read tonight."
--Ms. Magazine

"It is quietly hopeful - a satisfying tone to end on for what is otherwise a tense and electrifying story - and marks her as a serious writer to watch."
--The Harvard Crimson