The Good Ones

Available
Product Details
Price
$30.00  $27.90
Publisher
Harper
Publish Date
Pages
304
Dimensions
6.4 X 9.0 X 1.3 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780063234154

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Polly Stewart grew up in the Appalachian Mountains of Virginia, where she still lives. She graduated from Hollins University and has an MFA in fiction and a PhD in British literature from Washington University in St. Louis. Her short fiction has appeared in literary collections and journals, including Best New American Voices, The Best American Mystery Stories, Epoch, and the Alaska Quarterly Review. Her nonfiction has appeared in the New York Times, Crime Reads, and Poets & Writers, among other publications.

Reviews

"A startling, riveting tale about female friendship, past trauma, and the secrets we keep. Breathlessly entertaining and sharply incisive, Polly Stewart's debut is a must read." -- Kirstin Chen, New York Times bestselling author of Counterfeit?

"I can't stop thinking about Polly Stewart's The Good Ones. Smartly suspenseful and knife-sharp, this thriller explores the way our mistakes refuse to stay confined to the past tense. Stewart upends our understanding of how we fit into the stories that surround us--both the ones we tell ourselves and the narratives others spin for us. In these pages, those who stay behind have as many secrets as those who go missing, and I couldn't stop reading until I'd untangled every mystery." -- Sara Flannery Murphy, author of Girl One

"A young mother vanishes from her Appalachian hometown leaving little more than rumors and blood-stained carpets in her wake. Her overeducated and true-crime obsessed childhood friend is left to uncover what really happened in this stylish and totally compelling mystery that is as concerned with finding a missing woman as it is with challenging our assumptions about motherhood. I loved it!" -- Darcey Bell, author of A Simple Favor

"Polly Stewart's The Good Ones is a fantastic achievement. A classic Southern Gothic tale told through the prism of modern-day sensibilities. Not to be missed." -- S. A. Cosby, author of Razorblade Tears

"Sharp, smart and often sexy, The Good Ones is a knockout. Lauren Ballard's disappearance may be the core of this story, but it's the many raw secrets of Tyndall County that make this novel unique, clever, and compelling." -- Ace Atkins, New York Times bestselling author The Revelators and The Heathens

"Polly Stewart's stunning novel The Good Ones is reminiscent of Gone Girl with elements of Yellowjackets thrown in. This book dives straight into the heart of Appalachia, unearthing teenage tensions and full-grown fears which connect in ways I never saw coming. Fans of Megan Abbott will rejoice in this intricately textured addition to the rural noir canon." -- Eli Cranor, author of Don't Know Tough and Ozark Dogs

"An unsettling mystery about a young mother's disappearance and the cost of centering ourselves in someone else's story. Dark, suspenseful, and thought-provoking, The Good Ones kept me turning pages late into the night." -- Allison Buccola, author of Catch Her When She Falls

"The Good Ones by Polly Stewart is a stunning achievement. With gorgeous writing, a compelling, flawed protagonist whose journey is so authentic, and an intricate mystery in which everyone is a suspect, this debut is captivating. The twists and turns are seamless and subtle, fully immersing us in a world of wealth and power in a small town, where the line between love and hate closely bleeds together. And just when you think you've figured it all out, Stewart wallops you with a mind-blowing ending." -- Samantha M. Bailey, national bestselling author of Woman on the Edge and Watch Out for Her

"Bold, beautiful, savage and stunning. The Good Ones is a taut thriller, an elegant exploration of loss and the haunt of past mistakes, and a true page-turning mystery. I adored it." -- Chris Whitaker, New York Times bestselling author of We Begin at the End

"The friendship at the heart of this gripping mystery is among the darkest and most complicated relationships I've read. The Good Ones had me suspecting everyone in Tyndall County, only to be proven wrong by an ending I never saw coming. Polly Stewart is an author to watch." -- Ana Reyes, New York Times bestselling author of The House in the Pines

"The Good Ones by Polly Stewart is a riveting debut crime novel that's loaded with elements that readers will love - powerful characters, a fraught homecoming, and twists galore." -- Alex Segura, bestselling author of Secret Identity

"In Polly Stewart's bittersweet debut The Good Ones, good girls lie and bad girls disappear. But which is which? With a compelling cast of suspects and twists that keep on coming, The Good Ones delivers a moving portrait of complex and flawed women that will haunt the reader long after the last page." -- Amy Gentry

"A promising slice of psychological suspense . . .[Stewart's] messy, endearing lead and swift pacing make for a . . . thrilling ride. This should please fans of Megan Miranda and Megan Abbott." -- Publishers Weekly

"Not without its moments of welcome suspense and it will attract and engage the ever-increasing audience for domestic suspense." -- Booklist

"Stewart's debut is a powerful novel about a woman, recently returned to her Appalachian hometown, who grows obsessed with a friend's disappearance twenty years prior, and with other cases of missing women. What emerges is a sprawling tale about a town's secrets and lingering traumas, as well as one woman's reckoning with life's darkest turns. Stewart is a writer to watch." -- CrimeReads

"Fans of Emma Cline's The Girls and Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects will devour Stewart's unnerving examination of the tangled bonds between teenage girls and the suffocating constraints of womanhood. A hometown mystery with a plot twist that will blow your flip-flops off." -- Oprah Daily

"An engrossing work of literary suspense that illuminates the push and pull of female friendship and the costs of being good when the rules for women begin to chafe." -- Fresh Fiction

"Polly Stewart's The Good Ones is a Southern Gothic page-turner that's as thoughtful as it is suspenseful. . . . In this haunting crime novel, even the smallest details are steeped in Southern Gothic beauty. The Good Ones is not content merely to thrill, but asks the reader probing questions about womanhood that will linger long after its startling twist of an ending." -- Chapter 16

"Maine resident Shetterly has written a masterly debut novel about the first year of the plague and its corrosive effects on one family in the United States struggling to survive intact. Readers will be hard-pressed to leave this story behind." -- Library Journal

"I just finished debut author Polly Stewart's The Good Ones, a wild Southern noir with a brilliant and bold voice and one hell of a twist. -- Garden & Gun Magazine

"With writing that stands out in the genre, Polly Stewart creates a true page-turner that has both atmosphere and depth." -- Mosaic Magazine