The Faking of the President: Nineteen Stories of White House Noir

(Editor) (Contribution by)
& 1 more

Product Details

$16.00  $14.88
Three Rooms Press
Publish Date
5.4 X 8.2 X 1.0 inches | 0.95 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

PETER CARLAFTES a New York-based editor and author. He is editor of three short story collections in the Have a NYC noir series, and published four other mystery/noir collections including the Anthony Award-winning anthology The Obama Inheritance: 15 Stories of Conspiracy Noir. He is also author of two poetry collections and two play collections. He is co-director of Three Rooms Press. He lives in New York City.


"One of the strangest, most exhilarating rides you'll take in noir this year...Editor Peter Carlaftes brings together a talented group of contemporary noir luminaries, each author offering a unique vision of executive excess and intrigue." --CrimeReads

"Many of the 19 speculative stories in this highly entertaining anthology show U.S. presidents behaving badly, some with the same impunity as the current occupant of the White House. ... Fans of alternate history will have fun. This is the perfect diversion for those seeking a break from the more serious aspects of the election season." --Publishers Weekly

"The Faking of the President is a wild, rollicking ride through the corridors of power both past and present. These stories are dark, humorous and thoughtful; they take the presidency and its environs and turn it into a fun house of noirish story-telling. Get this book and read it during the presidential campaign to help keep your head on straight." --T.J. English, New York Times Best Selling author of Havana Nocturne and The Westies

"Whether burrowing into archival gaps, forging extraordinary connections between pivotal milestones, or conjuring up wild (and wildly entertaining!) alternative histories, these slyly subversive what-ifs and cutting critiques hit their marks on presidencies past and present." --Art Taylor, Edgar Award-winning author of The Boy Detective and the Summer of '74