The Fairy Bargains of Prospect Hill

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$18.99  $17.66
Publisher
Redhook
Publish Date
Pages
416
Dimensions
5.7 X 8.4 X 1.1 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780316378475

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Rowenna Miller lives in the Midwest with her husband and daughters, as well as several cats, two goats, and an ever-growing flock of chickens. When she isn't inventing fantasy worlds, she teaches writing, trespasses while hiking, and gets into trouble with her sewing machine.
Reviews
"A historical fantasy that gives equal weight to the historical and the fantastical, Rowenna Miller's latest grows from strong roots firmly anchored in history's realities, then unfurls its petals gradually into fantasy's full bloom. Like the intriguing Fae with whom the Fairborn sisters find themselves entangled in increasingly complex and desperate bargains, Miller promises a world richer and more rewarding than our own, and she delivers on that promise."--G.R. Macallister, author of Scorpica
"A deftly spun tale of folklore and sisterhood, of fairy bargains and family bonds. The magic lies not only in Rowenna Miller's spellbinding prose but also in the heart of her characters--women who are forging their own paths and coming into their own, within our world and beyond the veil. An enchanting story to savor."--Rebecca Ross, author of A River Enchanted
"Beautifully observed, steeped in folklore and rich with historical detail, The Fairy Bargains of Prospect Hill weaves a warm-hearted yet fierce fairy tale around the bonds of sisterhood and the choices facing women in a changing world. A true delight."--H. G. Parry, author of the Shadow Histories series
"A richly woven and deftly atmospheric tapestry of family, sisterhood, motherhood, and women's ambition. The Fairy Bargains of Prospect Hill is brimming with folk magic and delightfully sinister hidden worlds. Truly enchanting."--Leslye Penelope, author of The Monsters We Defy
"From a whimsy of ribbon to a bit of bone and blood, two compelling sisters chafing at society's expectations take us down an ever-darkening path. A bold journey against restraints becomes frightening then ultimately thrilling, as we find the sisters' true power lies in their resolve to blaze a trail for women, undeterred by deceptive promises...from man or fairy! A powerful tale of finding sisterhood and self."--Willa Reece, author of Wildwood Whispers
"In The Fairy Bargains of Prospect Hill, the magic--and the danger--of the Fae is as close as the garden gate. It's a beautifully written tale of feminine power, sisterly devotion, and magic as old as the hills themselves."--Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches
"A mesmerising, knotty tale of sisterhood, woven with the dark enchantment of fae bargains and the hard bargains a woman must strike to make her way in the world." --Cari Thomas, author of Threadneedle
"The Fairy Bargains of Prospect Hill is utterly spellbinding and full of wonder, a jewel of a book that explores the fierce and often complex bond between sisters, and the everyday folk magic woven into the stories we tell."--Francesca May, author of Wild and Wicked Things
"A bold story of sisterhood, societal expectations, and the lengths women may be willing to travel for love and freedom. Fans of Alix E. Harrow's The Once and Future Witches will find this fierce and folkloric tale a terrific read."
--Library Journal
"Miller seamlessly blends historical fiction and fantasy to create this enchanting tale of two sisters. The book is awash in period details as well as a vivid fantasy world, but Miller never loses sight of the sisters' relationship that sits at the heart of the story. Readers will be charmed by this tale of sisterhood, female strength, and the fae."--Booklist
"It's impossible to resist the allure of this charming book. Its focus on the small, everyday things that can be made easier with a little luck and a little fairy grace really creates a lived-in world where you can smell the apple blossoms in the orchard and hear the rattle of wagon wheels on dirt roads."--NPR
"A cozy, atmospheric historical fantasy."--Paste Magazine

"Powerful ... masterful balance of the uncanny and the inhumanly strange with complex, realistic issues."

--BookPage
"Atmospheric ... a thoughtful meditation on sisterhood and priorities."--Publishers Weekly
"The Fairy Bargains of Prospect Hill weaves a heartfelt story of sisterly love with well-developed fairy lore, and depicts the growing spheres of power for women in the years before suffrage. Fans of Ami McKay's The Witches of New York and H.G. Parry's A Declaration of the Rights of Magicians will be enthralled."--Shelf Awareness