The Einsteins of Vista Point

(Author) (Illustrator)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.80
Publisher
Christy Ottaviano Books-Little Brown and Hachette
Publish Date
Pages
272
Dimensions
5.58 X 7.97 X 1.02 inches | 0.74 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780316317436

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Ben Guterson is the author of Winterhouse, an Edgar Award and Agatha Award finalist as well as an Indie Next List Pick, and its sequels, The Secrets of Winterhouse and The Winterhouse Mysteries. The Winterhouse trilogy is available in ten languages worldwide. Ben and his family live in the foothills of the Cascades east of Seattle, and you can visit him online at benguterson.com.

Reviews

Praise for Winterhouse:

"Guterson provides readers a treat: mean caregivers à la the Dursleys; a vast, luxurious hotel where oddities abound; a new word-puzzle-loving friend; a shrouded history for Winterhouse; and sinister circumstances.... Clever and captivating."--Kirkus Reviews

"A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford's Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart's The Mysterious Benedict Society."

--School Library Journal

"A natural fit for readers with a penchant for puzzles and wordplay in the vein of the Mr. Lemoncello's Library series and Pseudonymous Bosch."

--Booklist

Praise for The Secrets of Winterhouse:

"Guterson's rich mystery and lively characters will keep readers turning the page to solve the puzzles within and leave them eagerly anticipating the next book in this intriguing and magical series."--Booklist

"An engaging blend of sleuthing, puzzle-solving, and magic."

--Kirkus Reviews
Praise for The Einsteins of Vista Point:

"Guterson does a splendid job of conjuring up the ideal setting for a classic summer story.... There are compassionate explorations of grief and loss, but obvious familial affection and gracious communal support keep the tone warm and hopeful. A properly old-fashioned adventure that begs to be read by flashlight under bedcovers."--Booklist
"Guterson treads carefully, demonstrating how grief can be maneuvered but not entirely left behind--this is a bruised family, even as they heal through shared experiences, conversations, and renewed trust that their loved ones will support their unique ways of mourning. The mystery of a tower, secret messages, ghostly communications, and a cranky old man are all appealing elements that move the story forward . . . readers will be glad to see the Einsteins get some closure, joy, and good karma."--BCCB
"Guterson (the Winterhouse trilogy) sensitively explores Zack's journey toward self-forgiveness in this contemplative adventure featuring a captivating northwestern U.S. setting, a splash of the paranormal, and a tidy ending."--Publishers Weekly
"The fascinating cipher that ties it all together is the highlight of this wholesome, gentle story.... An inspirational throwback for families seeking tales with a classic feel."--Kirkus Reviews