The Downstairs Neighbor

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$17.00  $15.81
Publisher
G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publish Date
Pages
400
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.1 X 1.0 inches | 0.66 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780593190388

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Helen Cooper is from Derby and has a MA in Creative Writing and a background in teaching English and Academic Writing. Her creative writing has been published in Mslexia and Writers' Forum; she was shortlisted in the Bath Short Story Prize in 2014, and came third in the Leicester Writes Short Story Prize 2018. The Downstairs Neighbor is her first novel.
Reviews
"Fans of British mysteries will love this debut...It is difficult to put down. This is one that readers may not figure out fully, if at all, in advance of the denouement, but the author ties all the secrets together in a most satisfying reveal."--Library Journal (starred review)

"Perfect for fans of twisty plots that'll keep you guessing."--Country Living

"[A] heart-pounding debut...Even avid suspense readers won't be able to predict all the twists. Cooper is off to a strong start." --Publishers Weekly

"Cooper skillfully builds a house of cards, demolishes it, reshuffles the deck, and deals an even stronger hand, while keeping a few cards up her sleeve. An emotionally charged domestic-suspense debut, perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware." --Booklist

"Powerfully displays how we often think secrets are the best way to protect those we love, but they often cause more damage than good."--San Francisco Book Review

"I am a sucker for an eavesdropping premise, and Helen Cooper's The Downstairs Neighbor doesn't disappoint. Cooper starts with a bang, with a missing girl and a big house filled with suspects, then holds the suspense high with characters that will keep the reader guessing--and guessing wrong. A gradual unearthing of long-held secrets wrapped in a smoothly plotted page-turner. "--Kimberly Belle, bestselling author of Stranger in the Lake

"Lock your doors, close your curtains, and sink into this claustrophobic tale of families, neighbors and buried secrets. Tense and perfectly paced, this emotionally charged novel will keep you guessing right to the very end."--Emma Rous, bestselling author of The Au Pair

"The unrelenting tension of this well-crafted debut kept me whizzing through the book, eager to discover exactly what had happened to Freya and whether the intriguing neighbours had anything to do with it. Loved the tension, the secrets and the satisfying, unexpected conclusion. Recommended!"--KL Slater, author of The Apartment

"An intriguing and compulsive story about family, secret pasts and private lives. Simmering with suspense and packed with twists and tension, this expertly crafted novel kept me gripped from start to finish."--Holly Miller, author of The Sight of You