The Death of Jane Lawrence

Available

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
St. Martin's Griffin
Publish Date
Pages
368
Dimensions
5.37 X 8.24 X 0.98 inches | 0.68 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781250769589

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Caitlin Starling writes horror-tinged speculative fiction of all flavors. Her first novel, The Luminous Dead, won the LOHF Best Debut Award and was nominated for both the Bram Stoker and Locus Awards. She is also the author of the gothic horror tales Yellow Jessamine and The Death of Jane Lawrence, as well as a novella in the Vampire: The Masquerade audio collection, Walk Among Us. Her nonfiction has appeared in Nightmare and Uncanny. Starling also works in narrative design, and has been paid to invent body parts. She's always on the lookout for new ways to inflict insomnia.

Reviews

"A delicious Gothic romance.... It has to walk the line between romance and horror and not flinch away from either. The Death of Jane Lawrence is up to this task.... By the time the book reached that point of no return, I was so invested that I would have followed Jane into the very depths of hell." --NPR.org

"Starling is one of the new leading voices in horror." --Locus Magazine

"Inspired by Crimson Peak, the horror in this gothic set in an alternate postwar England subtly increases as the novel progresses, unease seeping into the pages." --Buzzfeed

"Don't read this one alone at night; Caitlin Starling has done it again. Unsettling, atmospheric, and downright brutal at times, The Death of Jane Lawrence will continue to haunt you long after you leave Lindridge Hall...if the house lets you leave, that is." --Genevieve Gornichec, author of The Witch's Heart

"With The Death of Jane Lawrence, Caitlin Starling establishes herself as a queen of gothic horror. I absolutely loved this smart, compelling book about the weight and consequence of love, and how far we are willing to go in its service." --Kat Howard, Alex Award-winning author of An Unkindness of Magicians

"With labyrinthine twists and characters to fall for, Starling's gothic horror is a tale that haunts you even after you're done. The Death of Jane Lawrence is Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell with sharp teeth and a Crimson Peak you're scared to look in the eye." --Linden A. Lewis, author of The First Sister

"A sublime Gothic romance with bonesaw prose and a spreading stain of cosmic horror." --Seth Dickinson, author of The Traitor Baru Cormorant

"Elegantly atmospheric and grotesquely visceral, The Death of Jane Lawrence both haunts and tears open the ghost to show the gory insides. I loved every page!" --C.A. Higgins, author of Lightless

"A keen, visceral study in dread, The Death of Jane Lawrence is a harrowing plunge into the beating heart of hope and madness. The occult magic of Lindridge Hall captured me from the first page, and I never wanted it to let me go. Starling is a master of mind games with a twisted talent for dragging her characters through hell. I will read anything she writes next." --Kate Dollarhyde, Nebula award-winning game writer

"This blood-soaked book was chilling from beginning to end, with great reveals and an intense romance, plus lots of ghosts, gore, and guts!" --BookRiot

"A torturous book. Horrifying in small, cutting, personal ways, and in the more classic scare-in-a-dark-room way. But there's an iron rod of panicked strength that runs through the middle of it." --NPR, Jason Sheehan, on The Luminous Dead

"This claustrophobic, horror-leaning tour de force is highly recommended for fans of Jeff VanderMeer's Annihilation and Andy Weir's The Martian. --Publishers Weekly, starred review, on The Luminous Dead

"Starling has written a tightly-focused novel, part psychological thriller, part deep character study." --Tor.com, Liz Bourke, on The Luminous Dead