The Darkness Outside Us

Available
Product Details
Price
$19.99  $18.59
Publisher
Katherine Tegen Books
Publish Date
Pages
416
Dimensions
5.9 X 8.4 X 1.6 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062888280

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Eliot Schrefer is a New York Times bestselling author and has twice been a finalist for the National Book Award in Young People's Literature. His other awards include a Printz Honor, a Stonewall Honor, and the Green Earth Book Award. He is also the author of Charming Young Man, The Darkness Outside Us, Endangered, and Queer Ducks (and Other Animals): The Natural World of Animal Sexuality. He lives with his husband in New York City and is on the faculty of the Hamline University MFA in writing for children and young adults. Visit him online at eliotschrefer.com.

Reviews

"Schrefer masterfully evokes and maintains suspense that keeps the pages turning briskly while still taking the time to limn the two boys' touching, moving relationship. If all of this is space opera, readers will want an encore. Bravo." -- Booklist (starred review)

"3, 2, 1...blastoff for mystery, adventure, and queer intergalactic bodice-ripping." -- Kirkus Reviews

"[A] sexy space odyssey. Schrefer's immersive novel combines the build of mysteries and the tension of romance, slowly unfurling an iterative story about love and attraction, destiny, and connection. " -- Publishers Weekly

"Schrefer does an excellent job of developing and humanizing his characters before throwing them into the swift waters of a sci-fi plot with its truly shocking and satisfying twist. Readers are sure to root for these lovable characters' survival." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"This deep-space survival story, with a strong gay romance and notes of horror, will appeal to fans of Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff's Illuminae." -- School Library Journal

"Yes, The Darkness Outside Us is utterly inventive and relentlessly page-turning. And yes, Ambrose and Kodiak are seriously the hottest couple in space. But even more, this is an insightful, tender, and profound story, about the weight of history, and the power of transformation and true love." -- Deb Caletti, National Book Award finalist and author of A Heart in a Body in the World

"Fiercely imaginative and desperately real, The Darkness Outside Us explores the wild expanses of the human heart. This book is a triumph." -- Elana K. Arnold, author of Damsel, a Printz Honor Book

"The Darkness Outside Us is equal parts terrifying, tender, and thrilling. I loved every word of this sharp, thoughtful look at the world we live in and the ones beyond." -- Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion

"Absolutely brilliant. The Darkness Outside Us is a pulse-pounding thriller, engrossing science fiction epic, and heartfelt meditation on love all at once." -- Malinda Lo, Author of Ash