The Dark

Available
Product Details
Price
$14.95  $13.90
Publisher
Open Letter
Publish Date
Pages
143
Dimensions
5.61 X 8.49 X 0.44 inches | 0.45 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781934824436
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Sergio Chejfec, originally from Argentina, has published numerous works of fiction, poetry, and essays. Among his grants and prizes, he has received fellowships from the Civitella Ranieri Foundation in 2007 and the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation in 2000. He teaches at NYU.

Heather Cleary is a translator of fiction, criticism, and poetry. In 2005, she was awarded a Translation Fund grant from the PEN American Center for her work on Oliverio Girondo.

Reviews
"Early in Sergio Chejfec's "The Dark", the nameless narrator describes his disorientation when looking over a landscape as 'the vertigo of simple things.' This phrase describes the experience of reading Chejfec's novel [. . .] These moments, when Chejfec combines exquisite prose with the human yearning for truth and beauty, keep us reading, weighing the novel's contradictions, sifting through the narrator's abstract reflections in search of his life's meaning."--"Rain Taxi"

"Early in Sergio Chejfec's "The Dark," the nameless narrator describes his disorientation when looking over a landscape as 'the vertigo of simple things.' This phrase describes the experience of reading Chejfec's novel [. . .] These moments, when Chejfec combines exquisite prose with the human yearning for truth and beauty, keep us reading, weighing the novel's contradictions, sifting through the narrator's abstract reflections in search of his life's meaning."--"Rain Taxi"

"Early in Sergio Chejfec's The Dark, the nameless narrator describes his disorientation when looking over a landscape as 'the vertigo of simple things.' This phrase describes the experience of reading Chejfec's novel [. . .] These moments, when Chejfec combines exquisite prose with the human yearning for truth and beauty, keep us reading, weighing the novel's contradictions, sifting through the narrator's abstract reflections in search of his life's meaning."--Rain Taxi

"Early in Sergio Chejfec's The Dark, the nameless narrator describes his disorientation when looking over a landscape as 'the vertigo of simple things.' This phrase describes the experience of reading Chejfec's novel [. . .] These moments, when Chejfec combines exquisite prose with the human yearning for truth and beauty, keep us reading, weighing the novel's contradictions, sifting through the narrator's abstract reflections in search of his life's meaning."--Rain Taxi

"There is a constant dance between author and narrator, the physical and the intangible, the arbitrary and the logical. The environment [Chejfec] builds in his novels is based on assumptions, misunderstandings, suspicions, and opinions."--Justin Alverez, Music & Literature

"What's different about The Dark, compared with Chejfec's previously translated work, is the constant dance between author and narrator, which plays out as a dialogue between commentary on the world of novels and the story itself."--Words Without Borders

"A wistful, winding contemplation of that long dark night of the soul."--Kirkus Reviews

"The Dark adds a new dimension to the dual themes of geography and streaming consciousness that Chejfec loves. Here is a narrator who is also, at long last, a character. One whose moral compass points somewhere; who has stopped moving; who has instead restricted himself to a narrow physical and mental space; who no longer goes outside. Here is narrator left alone. Consigned, as it were, to the dark."--Necessary Fiction

"Although traditional plot is absent, this allows the author plenty of space to digress brilliantly about walking, factory workers and the notion of geography. Quiet, disturbing and utterly original, The Dark is a revelation. Perfect for fans of W.G. Sebald and Thomas Bernhard."--Brazos Bookstore