The Curse of Penryth Hall: A Mystery

Available

Product Details

Price
$28.00  $26.04
Publisher
Minotaur Books
Publish Date
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.98 X 9.29 X 1.1 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250886019

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

JESS ARMSTRONG's debut novel, The Curse of Penryth Hall, won the Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America First Crime Novel Competition. She has a masters degree in American History but prefers writing about imaginary people to the real thing. Jess lives in New Orleans with her historian husband, two sons, yellow cat, speckled dog, and the world's most pampered school-fair goldfish. And when she's not working on her next project, she's probably thinking about cheese, baking, tweeting or some combination of the above.

Reviews

A USA Today Bestseller
One of B&N's Best Mystery Debuts of the Year
One of the South Florida Sun Sentinel's Best Mysteries of the Year
One of Goodreads Best Books of the Month

"Armstrong's lively prose will make cynics believe in curses and witches. Ruby's intelligence, insight, fearless nature, and complicated background will make readers eager for a sequel." -Shelf Awareness

"Characters are rounded and distinct, the setting remarkably realized, and the blend of Gothic gloom with rustic charm and war-hardened pragmatism makes a highly palatable formula." -Historical Novel Society

"[The Curse of Penryth Hall] channels The Hound of the Baskervilles. . . An intriguing and altogether enchanting mystery." -Kirkus Reviews

"Armstrong's entrancing historical debut delivers an elegantly crafted, supernatural-tinged plot... Superbly rendered characters include a plucky protagonist whom Maisie Dobbs would be proud to claim as a friend and an evocative sense of place reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier at her best... Readers who like their historical mysteries embellished with plenty of gothic ambience and enhanced with an abundance of dry wit will adore this splendid debut." -Library Journal (starred review)

"An engrossing debut. . . Ruby is a wonderful concoction, world-weary and reckless, and Armstrong outfits her with a moody, gripping mystery that keeps the pages turning. . . Fans of Gothic-flavored suspense will devour this." -Publishers Weekly

"Readers who enjoy historical fiction with a touch of gothic and noir will find this tale compelling." -Booklist

"An atmospheric, fast-moving debut. . . This debut won the Mystery Writers of America/Minotaur First Crime Novel Competition, a well-deserved honor for a book whose gutsy main character and immersive world-building will remind readers of Margaret Dove in Evie Hawtrey's And By Fire." -First Clue

"This riveting romp. . . is a devilishly delightful read!" -B.R. Myers

"Perfect for fans of Hester Fox and Simone St. James." -Anna Lee Huber

"Clear your calendar before you pick up The Curse of Penryth Hall, because once you start reading you won't want to stop." -Katharine Schellman

"Will have readers on the edge of their seats, and leave them wanting more of Ruby Vaughn." -Kate Khavari

"Curious and enthralling." -Lydia Kang

"A witty and clever debut." -Kelley Armstrong