The Cthulhu Stories of Robert E. Howard

(Author) (Author)
& 1 more

Product Details

$34.99  $32.54
Wordfire Press
Publish Date
5.5 X 8.5 X 1.06 inches | 1.47 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Robert E. Howard (1906- 1936) grew up in the boomtowns of early twentieth-century Texas, eventually settling in Cross Plains where he lived for the remainder of his short life. Deciding early on a literary career, he spent the bulk of his time crafting stories and poems for the burgeoning pulp fiction markets: Weird Tales, Action Stories, Fight Stories, Argosy, etc. Howard's literary reputation was assured with the publication of The Shadow Kingdom in 1928, which featured a unique blend of fantasy and adventure which has since been termed Heroic Fantasy. The creation of Conan the Cimmerian, Kull the Conqueror, Solomon Kane and many more has earned him lasting recognition.
Howard Phillips Lovecraft (20 August 1890 - 15 March 1937) was an American writer of weird fiction and horror fiction, who is known for his creation of what became the Cthulhu Mythos. Lovecraft was relatively unknown during his lifetime. While his stories appeared in prominent pulp magazines such as Weird Tales not many people knew his name. Throughout his adult life, Lovecraft was never able to support himself from earnings as an author and editor. He was almost exclusively published in pulp magazines before he died in poverty at the age of 46, but is now regarded as one of the most significant 20th-century authors of supernatural horror fiction. Among his most celebrated tales are "The Call of Cthulhu", "The Rats in the Walls," At the Mountains of Madness, The Shadow over Innsmouth, and The Shadow Out of Time.
C. L. Moore (1911-1987) was an influential science fiction and fantasy writer and one of the first women to write in either genre. Her acclaimed Jirel of Joiry stories first appeared in pulp magazines in the 1930s. She was inducted into the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame in 1998.