The Coward: Book I of the Quest for Heroes

21,000+ Reviews has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
$17.99  $16.73
Angry Robot
Publish Date
5.3 X 8.4 X 1.3 inches | 1.05 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Stephen Aryan is the author of the Age of Darkness and Age of Dread trilogies. His first novel, Battlemage, was a finalist for the David Gemmell Morningstar Award for best debut fantasy novel. It also won the inaugural Hellfest Inferno Award in France. He has previously written a comic book column and reviews for In addition, he has self-published and kickstarted his own comics.
"Packing in an epic's worth of action and feeling, this thought-provoking fantasy argues that even the most vicious monster battles are less harrowing than the struggles within men's souls. This is a knockout."
- Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"Magnificent...Exactly the sort of breathless adventure we need after a lockdown year"
- SFX Magazine

"Aryan's newest series is sure to please fantasy readers; he wraps everything up masterfully while leaving just enough unresolved questions for the sequel"
- Booklist

"A tremendous sword & sorcery romp with a lot of heart and plenty to say. I really enjoyed this book."
- Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones

"Stephen Aryan puts the epic into Epic Fantasy."
- Den Patrick, author of The Boy with the Porcelain Blade

"Aryan's battle scenes are visceral masterpieces that transport the reader deep into the melee."
- Taran Matharu, author of the Summoner series

"Sparkling action sequences punctuate keen dialogue and a journey full of colour and interest... Compelling, consuming and a novel in which no character can be considered supporting cast... Bring on the sequel."
- James Barclay, author of The Chronicles of the Raven

"Fast-paced and action-packed, steeped in plots and schemes - a great fantasy tale."
- Ed Cox, author of The Relic Guild Trilogy