The Collected Novellas of Stefan Zweig

(Author) (Translator)
& 1 more
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

$19.95  $18.55
Pushkin Press
Publish Date
5.0 X 7.8 X 1.0 inches | 0.65 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Stefan Zweig was born in 1881 in Vienna, into a wealthy Austrian-Jewish family. He studied in Berlin and Vienna and was first known as a poet and translator, then as a biographer. Between the wars, Zweig was an international bestseller with a string of hugely popular novellas including Letter from an Unknown Woman, Amok and Fear. In 1934, with the rise of Nazism, he left Austria, and lived in London, Bath and New York--a period during which he produced his most celebrated works: his only novel, Beware of Pity, and his memoir, The World of Yesterday. He eventually settled in Brazil, where in 1942 he and his wife were found dead in an apparent double suicide. Much of his work is available from Pushkin Press.


"As much in his novellas as in his short stories, the Austrian writer's psychological acuity brought his protagonists and their dilemmas vividly to life... A rediscovery of Zweig through this book gives an enlightening perspective on the past century and how we got where we are today." --

Burning Secret

"Breathtaking ... the final sentence is unlike anything I have ever read before." -- Guardian

A Chess Story
'Perhaps the best chess story ever written, perhaps the best about any game' -- Economist

"Brilliant, unusual and haunting ... Stefan Zweig's time of oblivion is over for good." -- Salman Rushdie, The New York Times

"A marvellously poised account of misunderstood motives, thwarted love, and sublimated desires" -- TLS

Journey into the Past
"Vintage Stefan Zweig -- lucid, tender, powerful and compelling'." -- Independent