The Cleaving

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
Product Details
Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
Angry Robot
Publish Date
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.1 X 1.7 inches | 0.95 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781915202222

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Juliet E. McKenna is the author of 15 epic fantasy novels set in the world of Einarinn, as well as several novellas and countless short stories ranging from SF to steampunk and alternate history. She has been a judge for the World Fantasy Awards, the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the James White Award and the Aeon Award, and has, herself, been shortlisted for the British Fantasy Award and the BSFA Award for Best Novel.
Reviews
"The Cleaving is an inspired reimagining of Arthurian myth told from the perspective of Nimue. Through her eyes we see how these well-known stories play out, giving a voice to the women whose stories we've only seen through the eyes of men. McKenna deftly weaves a mythological retelling that is grounded in historical reality and is perfect for fans of Pat Barker's The Silence of the Girls and Anya Seton's Katherine." - Shauna Lawless, author of The Children of Gods and Fighting Men

"McKenna's writing immediately makes readers identify with the characters, and the strength they draw together fights against the weight of helplessness."
- Booklist

"With this impressive fantasy, McKenna brings a fresh, female perspective to the story of King Arthur while retaining all the magic and grandeur of the original tale... Fans of Arthurian legend and female-centric retellings like Circe and Ariadne will find much to enjoy."
- Publishers Weekly

ADDITIONAL PRASIE FOR JULIET E MCKENNA

"If you're not reading Juliet McKenna you should be"
- Kate Elliott

"The thinking fantasy reader's writer"
- Charles Stross

"Her many characters are thoroughly engaging and her plots tight"
- Joanne Harris

"McKenna creates real tension"
- Time Out

"Written with verve and style"
- SFX Magazine

"Magically convincing and convincingly magical"
- Dan Abnett

"If your appetite is for fantasy in the epic tradition, with compelling narratives, authentic combat and characters you care about, Juliet E McKenna is definitely the author for you" Stan Nicholls
"Everything just sings in these books."
- Charles de Lint in F&SF