The Book of Stolen Dreams

(Author)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$19.99  $18.59
Publisher
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publish Date
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.3 X 1.3 inches | 0.95 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781665922579

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
David Farr is a playwright, screenwriter, stage director, and film and TV director whose plays have been performed all over the world. He's the author of The Stolen Dreams Adventures series.
Reviews
"Farr's action-packed adventure will keep you on your toes as readers get both Rachel's and Robert's points of view with whimsical narration...a hopeful tale of bravery and resilience."--Booklist
"With nods to both His Dark Materials and Lemony Snicket, the narrative spins a tale of good and evil, all the while interposing snippets of humor to keep things just a bit sardonic. As the siblings navigate the mystery of the book they have been given and learn its secret, they encounter new worlds and both brave and cowardly people. While an effervescent adventure, the story never loses sight of its timely theme: the essential need for a moral compass...[s]parkling and timely."--Kirkus Reviews
"Alternating between the siblings' perspectives, third-person narration breaks the fourth wall, leavening fittingly dark matter with humor and whimsical details that will appeal to readers of Kelly Barnhill and Lemony Snicket."--Publishers Weekly
"Farr's beautifully crafted, thought-provoking story isn't an easy-breezy read, but Farr is intimately acquainted with its stakes: The Book of Stolen Dreams was inspired by his own German Jewish family's escape from Nazi Germany between 1935 and 1938. The novel grapples with tough, weighty questions: Is happiness possible under government oppression? When is a risk worthwhile? What do we owe our fellow citizens?

Farr's characters experience fear and grief right alongside delight and wonder. As his omniscient narrator observes with the mix of hard-won acceptance, hope and love for humanity that echoes throughout The Book of Stolen Dreams, 'Such is life, my friend. There is no joy without accompanying sorrow. There is no despair so dark that a sliver of light cannot abate it.'"--BookPage