Sure, I'll Be Your Black Friend: Notes from the Other Side of the Fist Bump

Available

Product Details

Price
$26.99  $25.10
Publisher
Harper
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
6.4 X 9.0 X 1.3 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780063065062

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Ben Philippe is a New York-based writer and screenwriter, born in Haiti and raised in Montreal, Canada. He has a Bachelor of Arts from Columbia University and an MFA in fiction and screenwriting from the Michener Center for Writers in Austin, Texas. He also teaches film studies and screenwriting at Barnard College. He is the author of the William C. Morris Award-winning novel The Field Guide to the North American Teenager. Find him online at www.benphilippe.com.

Reviews

"I still mute Ben's texts, but I inhaled his hilarious book, which is so full of razor-sharp wit and punches to the gut that it almost made me sick. In a good way!" -- Samantha Irby, New York Times bestselling author of Wow, No Thank You

"Philippe has created a funny, and at times harrowing, memoir of his experience as a Black man. Fans of similar memoirs, such as Damon Young's What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Blacker, will enjoy the irreverence and recognize themselves in these pages." -- Library Journal

"Flat-out funny...This is a great next-book for fans of What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Blacker and We Are Never Meeting in Real Life, but if a reader hasn't turned to either of those yet, Philippe's disarming, illuminating, and hilarious chronicle is a great place to start." -- Booklist