Rosie: Stronger Than Steel

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
Two Lions
Publish Date
Pages
40
Dimensions
8.9 X 11.1 X 0.7 inches | 1.1 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781542017947

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Lindsay Ward is the author and illustrator of over two dozen books for kids. Her most recent titles include Jessie: Queen of the Road (Two Lions, 2023), The Capitol (HarperCollins, 2022), and Pink Is Not a Color (Two Lions, 2022). She lives in Ohio with her husband, three boys, one dog, and flock of ducks. Visit her online at lindsaymward.com.

Reviews

"Cross-cultural feminist history goes down easy in this kid-friendly story. Factual details about female factory workers in the United States and the Women's Land Army in England merge in this fictional tale of a sunny little tractor. Children too small to appreciate Ward's deft melding of history and storytelling will still find much to enjoy...Ward's art simultaneously anthropomorphizes Rosie and gives a sense of authenticity to her human figures. More than the sum of its parts, this is a wildly successful and well-researched shaping of the picture-book form to true historical sheroes." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"This 'little tractor that could' sort of tale pays tribute to the iconic Rosie the Riveter persona from the US and the British Land Girls of the Women's Land Army during WWII. Fans of Loren Long's Otis, Virginia Lee Burton's Katy, and like sturdy, dependable workhorses will welcome Rosie into the fold, but the historical perspective adds an unusual dimension to her story." --Booklist (starred review)

"Vocabulary is rich, and the younger set will appreciate the intermittent rhymes. The style of Ward's colored pencil and cut-paper illustrations reflect the period of the tale. This historical fiction tale will serve better in a unit or lesson plan on women's history theme than one on transportation." --School Library Journal

"Ward emphasizes the role that many women played during WWII in this cadenced story narrated by a big-eyed emerald tractor christened Rosie...If the war feels distant in Ward's brightly abundant scenes of women at work, bright mixed-media art lends the book an appropriate air of nostalgia. An author's note and timeline offer historic details." --Publishers Weekly

"The book has charming illustrations, as Rosie the Tractor seems to come to life." --Historical Novel Society