Roberts Ridge: A Story of Courage and Sacrifice on Takur Ghar Mountain, Afghanistan

Available

Product Details

Price
$8.99  $8.36
Publisher
Dell
Publish Date
Pages
400
Dimensions
4.1 X 6.8 X 1.1 inches | 0.45 pounds
Language
English
Type
Mass Market Paperbound
EAN/UPC
9780553586800

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Malcolm MacPherson is a journalist and author of several fiction and non-fiction books. He served in the Marine Corps, and worked as a staff journalist for Time and Newsweek magazines, the latter for 12 years as a foreign correspondent. Most recently, he reported from Iraq on assignment with Time. He lives in Warrenton, Virginia with his wife and two kids.

Reviews

"A true story of courage that captures-over the course of seventeen hours-all the drama and sacrifice of war. Impossible to put down. Highly recommended."--James Bradley, author of Flags of Our Fathers and Flyboys

"At once a terrifying and compelling narrative, Roberts Ridge strikes awe for its unflinching and honest portrayal of the courage, determination, and capability of American fighting men. This true tale resonates with vitally important lessons of success and failure on the field of battle."--Eric Haney, author of Inside Delta Force

"In the tradition of Black Hawk Down, Malcolm MacPherson vividly brings to life this harrowing story of courage, pathos, and war at its grittiest. For military history buffs, or those interested in the front lines of the war on terror, Roberts Ridge is a must read."--Jay Winik, author of April 1865: The Month That Saved America

"[MacPherson] is at his best when he uses his access to the special-forces fighters and spills details, such as the smell of a bullet-shredded pine tree and the slow icing of the sweat and blood that soaked the men's clothing.... a story with a strong heart."--The Hartford Courant

"Roberts Ridge is a reminder that combat, despite America's huge technological advantages, always boils down to the basics: Men, machinery, maps and mojo.... Like Black Hawk Down, there is no happy ending .... Ultimately, Roberts Ridge is a study in courage and comradeship. How some of America's finest young men, in the crucible of combat, refuse to surrender their buddies in the face of gut-clenching firepower, grinding cold and the bewildering fog and friction of war."--The Flint Journal

"An impressively detailed account of one heart-wrenching battle in the invasion of Afghanistan. MacPherson gives readers a rare, behind-the-scenes look ... A Great read." -- St. Petersburg Times

"A real-life thriller. . . that bridges the breach between the military and a civilian culture possessing little knowledge or experience of the military." --Booklist