Red, White, and Whole: A Newbery Honor Award Winner

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.80
Publisher
Quill Tree Books
Publish Date
Pages
224
Dimensions
5.7 X 8.6 X 0.8 inches | 0.68 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780063047426

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Rajani LaRocca was born in India, raised in Kentucky, and now lives in Massachusetts, where she practices medicine and writes award-winning books for young readers, including the Newbery Honor-winning novel in verse, Red, White, and Whole. She's always been an omnivorous reader, and now she is an omnivorous writer of novels and picture books, fiction and nonfiction, in prose and poetry. A graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Medical School, she lives outside Boston with her family. Visit her at rajanilarocca.com.

Reviews

"Truly, one of the most heart-expanding stories ever, filled with kindness, music, mythology, all of those things. But above all, here is a story of love, and the ways in which it transcends nationalities, age, science, and fear. In LaRocca's gifted hands, her Reha shows us how to live in the world, even when it feels divided, even then." -- Kathi Appelt, National Book Award finalist and Newbery Honor-winning author of The Underneath and Keeper

"Red, White, and Whole is the lyrical and poignant journey of a first generation Indian American girl growing up in the eighties. LaRocca weaves together a beautiful mix of themes-- identity, belonging, love, devastating loss, and eighties pop music rendered in seamless verse. A book I wish I had growing up in the eighties!" -- Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Night Diary

"This book is a marvel -- at once so rich and so spare." -- Ali Benjamin, National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author of The Thing About Jellyfish and The Next Great Paulie Fink

"The seamless blend of ancient Indian folklore and modern western storytelling makes this winner a standout. Red, White, and Whole gets my vote." -- Nikki Grimes, author of Ordinary Hazards and Garvey's Choice

"This deeply memorable coming-of-age story weaves Indian mythology with the relatable modern story of Reha, as she grapples with identity, family, and what it means to truly be home." -- Joy McCullough, author of Blood Water Paint; A Field Guide to Getting Lost; and We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire

"I felt this novel in verse in my bones. An important book, it will change how young readers see their world. And that's the best kind of book to read at any age." -- Jane Yolen, author of The Devil's Arithmetic, Briar Rose, and Mapping the Bones

"This is a sweet, gentle story about love and loss, individualism and community, friendship and family, belonging and longing to live up to one's dreams. In Reha, LaRocca has created a relatable protagonist who feels caught between two cultures, but ultimately finds her own way." -- Padma Venkatraman, award-winning author of The Bridge Home and A Time To Dance

"Infused with science, 80s music, and the struggles and joys of navigating middle school when you live in two different worlds, Red, White, and Whole is delightfully real and achingly beautiful. Reha's story grabbed my heart from the first pages and never let go." -- Kate Messner, author of Breakout and Chirp

"LaRocca's historical novel in verse takes the reader through Reha's past and present, flowing as seamlessly as many of the songs often referred to within the poems. Readers will be changed by her story." -- Booklist (starred review)

"LaRocca showcases the best of what verse can do, telling a story that is spare, direct and true, every word and idea placed with intentional care. A sensitive coming-of-age story with all the makings of a new middle grade classic." -- BookPage (starred review)

"An intimate novel that beautifully confronts grief and loss." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Brimming with warmth. An approachable account of negotiating identity and of struggling with loss."
-- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Perfect for fans of Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga and Full Cicada Moon by Marilyn Hilton." -- School Library Journal

"This verse novel weaves together complex narrative strands with sophistication. Give this emotionally powerful novel to immigrant, third-culture kids or anyone experiencing grief and loss." -- Horn Book Magazine